Jump to content



Photo

Overlapping


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tappiocca

Tappiocca

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 12:48 PM

Question. Ship A w/ a Int. 1 moves and touches Ship B w/ Int. 2. Even though Ship 2 is about to move, does Ship A still lose his/her Action Phase? I am thinking yes, but it was a question brought up tonight.



#2 DoubleNot7

DoubleNot7

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,190 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:37 PM

Yes, ship A would lose its action.


Enimo Et Fide


#3 magadizer

magadizer

    2014 X-wing Store Championship Participant

  • Members
  • 1,083 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:38 PM

Assuming that by "Int. " you mean "pilot skill" then the answer is yes, ship A loses its action.
Be seeing you.

#4 magadizer

magadizer

    2014 X-wing Store Championship Participant

  • Members
  • 1,083 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:39 PM

Otherwise the ship would never lose its action unless it overlapped another ship of the same skill which had not yet moved.
Be seeing you.

#5 Tappiocca

Tappiocca

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:17 PM

Lets say it this way. Rookie Pilot (PS2) moves and overlaps Luke (PS8), does he lose its Action.



#6 magadizer

magadizer

    2014 X-wing Store Championship Participant

  • Members
  • 1,083 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:27 PM

Yes. Any time you overlap another ship base you lose your action. In all cases.
Be seeing you.

#7 Emrico

Emrico

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:30 PM

rgeer3 said:

Lets say it this way. Rookie Pilot (PS2) moves and overlaps Luke (PS8), does he lose its Action.

Rookie Pilot loses his action. Luke does not lose his own action (assuming that Luke moves away from the Rookie on his own move and does not overlap).

Jim


Rebels: 3 YT-1300s, 6 X-Wings, 6 Y-Wings, 6 A-Wings, 6 B-Wings, 4 HWK-290s,10 Z-95s, 3 E-Wings, 2 GR-75s, 1 CR-90
Imperials: 8 TIEs, 4 TIE Adv, 12 TIE Interceptors, 3 Firesprays, 6 TIE Bombers, 5 Lambdas, 3 TIE Defenders, 4 Phantoms

#8 Gravis

Gravis

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 03:41 PM

As everyone above has mentioned, yes.  However I can see where the question comes from.  Overlapping is an, "as it happens, case by case," rule, not something that is checked for at the end of the activation phase.  So a ship with a lower pilot skill that overlaps with a ship with a higher pilot skill still takes the penalties for overlapping, even though that other ship will be moving later in the round.  Otherwise ships would only ever overlap those with a lower pilot skill than them, which goes against the idea of pilot skill to begin with.



#9 mrgoodtrips

mrgoodtrips

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:58 AM

Remember though that if the ship is touching but does not overlap(has not been moved back along the template) then it can still perform actions and shoot at the ship it is touching  see F.A.Q,


c





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS