Jump to content



Photo

Are reactions optional?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 GongShowHost

GongShowHost

    Member

  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:29 PM

I'm playing a Sith deck and the objective Fall of the Jedi says "Reaction: After your draw phase begins, place 1 card from your hand on the bottom of your deck." Do I have to do this every turn, even if I don't want to?

#2 Tappiocca

Tappiocca

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:36 PM

Some are Forced, some are not.. But I beleive that one is Non-Optional.. But I think you get a card out of it also. So, It is not a total loss.



#3 Surge1000

Surge1000

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:37 PM

Page 25

 

FORCED

 

While most card abilities are voluntary, some interrupt and reaction effects are preceded by the word forced.  Such effects must be resolved immediately whenever the specified trigger occurs as described in their text.

 

So, unless it's a forced ability, triggering it is optional.

 

*edit*

 

The reaction ability on Fall of the Jedi is not forced.  Therefore, it is optional.  And if you have two of them in play, you may choose to trigger none, one or both, but each would fully resolve individually.



#4 GongShowHost

GongShowHost

    Member

  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:00 PM

I thought so but the rules weren't explicit enough. Thanks!

#5 ScottieATF

ScottieATF

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:07 PM

GongShowHost said:

I thought so but the rules weren't explicit enough. Thanks!

In what way?



#6 Eruletho

Eruletho

    Member

  • Members
  • 649 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 12:41 AM

IIRC, the rules never spell out that non-forced things are optional. It's just assumned based on the wording of forced. I don't have a rulebook handy, so I can't verify…



#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,374 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 12:48 AM

Eruletho said:

IIRC, the rules never spell out that non-forced things are optional. It's just assumned based on the wording of forced. I don't have a rulebook handy, so I can't verify…

Page 25 under Forced says most are voluntary unless it says Forced. 

 



#8 DailyRich

DailyRich

    Member

  • Members
  • 443 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:06 AM

It's long been standard in games like this to have "may" in the wording if it's something you can choose not to do.  I'm not surprised some people are reading this card that way, since the idea of forced reactions is probably less familiar.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS