Jump to content



Photo

Court of the Witch King


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Buffytrek

Buffytrek

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 01:07 PM

Hello,

Was trying to find the answer to this on the forums but cant find it anywhere.

Does the Support card The court of the Witch King cause the opponent to discard cards only when the last resource token is removed then does nothing after this, or does it work on each subsequent turn.  I.e. I remove a token  0 -1 is -1 i.e. effectively 0, then since there are no more tokens on it the opponent must discard cards from his deck?

 

Many thanks

Noel



#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 04:17 AM

The part after "then" only happens if the part before "then" has resolved successfully. So you can only discard cards if you have first removed the last resource token. To trigger this effect more than once, you'll need a way to get a resource token on the card again first.


  • jr1984sub likes this

#3 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:07 PM

What happens if I remove the last token in the Battlefield phase? Can I play the Action? I think no, because the condition of CotWK is "At the beginning of the turn… then…." so the last token must be removed at the beginning of the turn or the action is illegal, it's correct?



#4 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:54 PM

Correct. It's one action, with two parts. It can only be triggered at the beginning of your turn, and the second part happens only if you removed a token (the first part) and there then are no tokens left. If the last token is removed by some other effect, you don't get to discard cards.



#5 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 06:54 PM

Thank you for the reply, Mallumo.



#6 Sagefoxwood

Sagefoxwood

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

it would be a shame if i was the only one to have thought of it but what if there were a way to take tokens from pleasure cults and put them somewhere els ;3



#7 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 323 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:03 PM

Like with Jealous Eyes? I'm not sure, because Jealous Eyes targets opponent's cards, not cards  your opponent controls. Pleasure Cults would be a card you own which your opponent controls, so I'd say that couldn't be targeted… But I'm not really sure on that one.



#8 ChemicalWarfare

ChemicalWarfare

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:06 PM

Loads of cards/decks use resource tokens, so just go ahead and use Jealous Eyes.



#9 Junglecat

Junglecat

    Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 01:32 PM

Like with Jealous Eyes? I'm not sure, because Jealous Eyes targets opponent's cards, not cards  your opponent controls. Pleasure Cults would be a card you own which your opponent controls, so I'd say that couldn't be targeted… But I'm not really sure on that one.

I'm curious on this question as well. Anyone have an official answer to this?



#10 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 02:44 PM

Card texts - your unit, an opponent's unit, etc. - refer to control, not ownership (unless the explicitly speak of that). "Opponent's card" refers to a card controlled by the opponent, even if he doesn't own it. You can use Jealous Eyes to move tokens from a Pleasure Cults or Snotling Invasion you played under your opponent's control to a card you control.


  • Junglecat and jr1984sub like this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS