Jump to content



Photo

Blackmoor Estate Action


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Pikaro

Pikaro

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 05:01 AM

Not sure I understand it's action right. When use it who discards cards from the deck. Player who uses the action or his opponent?



#2 HomerJ

HomerJ

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 20 January 2013 - 04:42 AM

Blackmoor Estate reads

Action: Exhaust and pay X to discard the top X cards of a player's deck.

Since the ORD defines targetting as "The word target is used to indicate that an effect is directing a player to choose 1 or more cards for an effect to resolve on."  I'm going to assume that they chose not to use target, and that you are selecting (not targetting) a player for the effect.  However, I'm in agreement that it's written strangely.  It should likely say "Choose an opponent", but since CoC is pretty much 'as intended' then my assumption is that it's written so that you can choose any opponent or yourself for the effect.



#3 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,044 posts

Posted 20 January 2013 - 09:05 PM

The player triggering the Action gets to decide, and yes, she can also choose herself.



#4 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,164 posts

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:27 AM

This isn't just some weirdo rules loophole.  You often WANT to choose yourself.  Yog has a lot of great recursion cards that can make good use out of your discard pile, so why wouldn't you want to load some good stuff in there?

So, Blackmoor Estate can be used in a mill deck, or in a deck that has some good disard recursion and wants to set itself up.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS