Jump to content



Photo

Blank Die Results


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Baroolchen

Baroolchen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:37 PM

Apologies if this question's been asked before - I couldn't find it on the search.

Is there a reason each die has a blank face (two in the case of the boost and setback dice)? Are these results simply meant to be discarded? What happens when you roll all blank sides? Do you simply re-roll?

Thanks in advance!



#2 Kallabecca

Kallabecca

    Member

  • Members
  • 844 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:46 PM

Baroolchen said:

Apologies if this question's been asked before - I couldn't find it on the search.

Is there a reason each die has a blank face (two in the case of the boost and setback dice)? Are these results simply meant to be discarded? What happens when you roll all blank sides? Do you simply re-roll?

Thanks in advance!

Blank is exactly that. Neither a success nor a failure. You don't reroll them. If you get all blanks, then you didn't succeed at the task at hand and didn't gain any advantages to help yourself or others…



#3 Baroolchen

Baroolchen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:49 PM

Huh. Okay. Don't really understand the design choice there, rather than just putting a second success or failure symbol on there, but thanks for your help!



#4 Sturn

Sturn

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,179 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:16 PM

Baroolchen said:

Huh. Okay. Don't really understand the design choice there, rather than just putting a second success or failure symbol on there, but thanks for your help!

If you put a, "second success" on there you just increased the odds of a success. If you put another, 'failure", on there, you just increased the chances of a failure. Blanks gave the designers the ratios they were looking for.



#5 chrisdk

chrisdk

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:20 PM

Well, nearly all other systems have dice with "blanks", too. 

 

Especially the d10 systems with a fixed target number and counting the numbers of successes. There basically any number below the fixed Target of 7 is for all intents and purposes a blank.

 

Or in D20, if you know you need to roll 10 or more, every number below 10 becomes a blank for this roll with every number above it becoming a success.

It's just that since this system shows your proficiencies and difficulties in numbers of dice rather than modifiers they can go with static "blanks".

 

Hope that makes as much sense when read as it did in my head ;-)

 



#6 yakmandoo

yakmandoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:32 PM

So please help me here. Let's say you have a dice pool of 3 Ability (green) 1 proficiency (yellow) 2 Difficulty (purple) and the successes and failures cancel out or you get blanks with net Advantage/Threat. Do blanks and net 0 (equal successes and failures) count as failures with the Advantage/Threat weighing either way in the narrative?

 

Example #1:

2 Successes

2 Failures

1 Advantage

Example #2:

Blank Success

Blank Failure

1 Advantage

 

Thanks.



#7 aljovin

aljovin

    Member

  • Members
  • 177 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:44 PM

Ni both examples, the PC doesn't hit, however it still got 1 advantage, so it could allow the next PC a blue die to his dice pool for that advantage, or regain a strain, both options would be valid. 

 

Te same thing with a threat,  you still apply it with or without a successful check.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS