Jump to content



Photo

Questions about movement


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Asm0

Asm0

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:20 AM

Just played my first few games of Descent with my gaming group, there were a few peculiarities with movement that we could not quite agree on. So was wondering how others handled these situations.


1) Firstly there was the "Oath of Honor" ability, my hero players seemed to use this ability mainly as a way of bypassing blockades - They would engineer the situation so that the closest available adjacent square was always behind the target creature, thus allowing the knight to teleport behind and continue on there way. Is this how this skill is supposed to function?


2) Second is to do with the combination of "Oath of Honor" and Syndrael's hero ability. Does using "Oath of Honor" count as having moved for the purpose of being able to recover the 2 points of fatigue at the end of her turn? I notice that it is worded as not having moved, instead of not taken a move action.


3) Lastly there is the case of interrupting your movment to perform an action. Basically does it HAVE to be an action you use in the middle of your move, or could say a Disciple move two squares to move along beside another hero, use "Prayer of Healing" on them, which is not counted as an action, then continue on with their movement?



#2 Weltenreiter

Weltenreiter

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:46 PM

Asm0 said:

Just played my first few games of Descent with my gaming group, there were a few peculiarities with movement that we could not quite agree on. So was wondering how others handled these situations.


1) Firstly there was the�"Oath of Honor" ability, my hero players seemed to use this ability mainly as a way of bypassing blockades - They would engineer the situation so that the closest available adjacent square was always behind the target creature, thus allowing the knight to teleport behind and continue on there way. Is this how this skill is supposed to function?


2) Second is to do�with the combination of "Oath of Honor" and Syndrael's hero ability. Does using "Oath of Honor" count as having�moved for the purpose of being able to recover the 2 points of fatigue at the end of her turn? I notice that it is worded as not having moved, instead of not taken a move action.


3) Lastly there is the case of interrupting your movment to perform an action. Basically does it HAVE to be an action you use in the middle of your move, or could say a Disciple move two squares to move along beside another hero, use "Prayer of Healing" on them, which is not counted as an action, then continue on with their movement?

1) Yes, oath can allow awesome wire fu jedi jumps if used properly.

2) No, her "figure was placed", she did not "move". Regen 2 fat.

3) Anything thats doable should be able to interrupt.

 

Edit: line breaks. This time. I hope.



#3 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 248 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:33 PM

Ives seen a lot of debate around question 2, what is considered moved and what is not, did you get that "placed" interpretation from any FFG source? It would really help me end some debates in my group…



#4 Weltenreiter

Weltenreiter

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 03:30 AM

No, just plain text from the card. If the arguments are with your group, I recommend beating them with the box lid, something that unfortunately doesn't work in oneline debates. :P

#5 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 248 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:09 AM

Hahaha, that… would not work )even though Descent has a really good and heavy box lid to club people with.

This is not the first thread I see about this here or on BGG and opinions will be divided until a new Faq comes out. For some people "move" means, "ending the turn in any square that is different than the square it began the turn in".

Your answer is in the same line than simmilar Faqs published by FFG for other games according to a BGG post though…



#6 Varikas

Varikas

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 07:42 AM

Syndrael ability doesnt say "move ACTION" it says only MOVE.

There are a lof of chances to move. You can move with fatige and thats not an move action, you can move with heros ability, with heroic feat…and also with skills, but if you end your turn in other space, that is move, teleport or what you want, but to put the hero in the other square you have to "move" it right? so that is a move haha



#7 Weltenreiter

Weltenreiter

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:17 AM

*Whacks Varikas with box lid*

No, "putting my hero in another space" is "putting my hero in another space".

One of the methods to accomplish this may be "moving". You're right though, plenty of ways to "move" exist that are not "move actions". Since Syndrael does not specify "move action" but general move, those would all disallow her regen. Oath is not one of them, because no "move" happens.

 

Edit: @ Moevius: also, I dont really see this issue debated much. What I see debated somewhat frequently, and what may be easily conflated with this (because tangentially related) is the popular house ruling of making Immobilize do something else than what it says on the card.



#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,405 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:57 PM

Asm0 said:

1) Firstly there was the "Oath of Honor" ability, my hero players seemed to use this ability mainly as a way of bypassing blockades - They would engineer the situation so that the closest available adjacent square was always behind the target creature, thus allowing the knight to teleport behind and continue on there way. Is this how this skill is supposed to function?

Yes, I would say that's legal, the way the card is worded.  I don't particularly like it from a thematic perspective, but I wouldn't argue about it in game.

Asm0 said:


2) Second is to do with the combination of "Oath of Honor" and Syndrael's hero ability. Does using "Oath of Honor" count as having moved for the purpose of being able to recover the 2 points of fatigue at the end of her turn? I notice that it is worded as not having moved, instead of not taken a move action.

Count me among those who think that "move" is anything that relocates your figure from one space to another.  "Move Action" is a Move Action, but "move" is anything that moves you.

I can live being attacked with box lids by people I'm never going to play with anyhow.

Asm0 said:



3) Lastly there is the case of interrupting your movment to perform an action. Basically does it HAVE to be an action you use in the middle of your move, or could say a Disciple move two squares to move along beside another hero, use "Prayer of Healing" on them, which is not counted as an action, then continue on with their movement?

I'd say this is allowed.  I'd be inclined to say it's not even an interruption if the other thing you're doing isn't an action itself, but I'm sure some lawyery types would take that as permission to use Prayer of Healing in the middle of resolving an attack or something.



#9 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 05:42 AM

“Rule Question:
Is Hugo the Glorious considered moved after using Knight skill Oath of Honor, thus rendering him unable to use his Hero Ability?
On a similar note does a hero using Oath of Honor count as “having entered the space” for terrain/Overlord traps?”

“Yes to both.
Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games”

 

So by extension I would rule that even with Syndrael's Hero card it would be considered a movement action



#10 humi

humi

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 March 2013 - 05:02 PM

Referring to the above explanations. The player can move the hero spending fatigue points and then two shares to the attacks ?



#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,405 posts

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:32 AM

humi said:

Referring to the above explanations. The player can move the hero spending fatigue points and then two shares to the attacks ?

Yes, you can move with fatigue and then spend both actions attacking.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS