Jump to content



Photo

Precise Aim?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 GeekZap

GeekZap

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:00 PM

Oskara has the option to take "Precise Aim" as a talent which reduces a targets defense by 1. Does this mean that she rolls one less difficulty die when attacking? I'm confused.



#2 Kallabecca

Kallabecca

    Member

  • Members
  • 685 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:20 PM

It doesn't reduce the Difficulty dice. It takes away Setback dice from the pool.



#3 ironman

ironman

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:33 PM

some types of armour have a defense rating that add a black dice, she would take one of those away. stormtroopers are a good example as they wear plasteel armour which has a defense of 1.



#4 GeekZap

GeekZap

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:54 AM

Thanks for the quick replies!



#5 BigRichATL

BigRichATL

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 01:54 PM

Does the precise aim talent take away a setback die from a target's cover like it does from armor? I know it doesn't say it explicitly, but I'll probably allow it and see how it goes.

My main question is do you still get the boost die added to your pool like you would for a regular Aim maneuver? My gut says yes, since aiming is aiming.

What is your opinion?

 

 



#6 Sturn

Sturn

    Member

  • Members
  • 892 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 02:46 PM

ironman said:

some types of armour have a defense rating that add a black dice, she would take one of those away. stormtroopers are a good example as they wear plasteel armour which has a defense of 1.

Actually they don't in the rules-as-written. Stormtroopers have Laminate which has a Defense of 0. I'm one of those that think Stormtrooper armor SHOULD have a Defense of 0 (definition of defense includes reflective ability), but it doesn't.



#7 Donovan Morningfire

Donovan Morningfire

    Looking for a saint? Look elsewhere.

  • Members
  • 3,051 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 09:51 AM

BigRichATL said:

Does the precise aim talent take away a setback die from a target's cover like it does from armor? I know it doesn't say it explicitly, but I'll probably allow it and see how it goes.

My main question is do you still get the boost die added to your pool like you would for a regular Aim maneuver? My gut says yes, since aiming is aiming.

What is your opinion?

As for negating the benefits of cover, Precise Aim would work, since cover (at least as of the Beta Updates) increases the hiding person's ranged defense by +1, which equates to a setback die.  As Precise Aim works to negate setback dice provided by defense, either ranged, melee, or just general defense score, then yes you can use Precise Aim to negate the benefits of cover.

On the second, you would need to take a second manuever in order to Aim, as the Aim manuever and the Precise Aim talent are two separate effects, so spending a manuever to activate one would not immediately enable you to activate the other.


Dono's Gaming & Etc Blog - http://jedimorningfire.blogspot.com/

"You worry about those drink vouchers, I'll worry about that bar tab!"





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS