Jump to content



Photo

paying for event cards with resource points.


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 peterstepon

peterstepon

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:25 PM

just a quick question as I am digesting the rules

You can only play units and enhancements during the depoyment phase but can play an event card anytime.  Units enhancements and events are all paid for the same way by putting force tokens on any card with a resource number on it.

Thanks, I was just wondering if you could do this during the heat of battle during a conflict. 



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

You can play event cards roughly "whenever."  For a more specific breakdown: event cards that are interrupts or reactions can play any time their conditions are met.  Event cards that are actions can play during any Player Action window (check out the nice chart in the back of the rule book for a full breakdown of when those are… the most relevant place where there isn't one but you might want one: between commiting units to the force and deciding the force struggle)



#3 cleardave

cleardave

    Member

  • Members
  • 402 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:11 PM

Yes, you can play an Event card at any appropriate point.  Read the card for further information, such as whether it's considered an "Action" or reaction, interrupt, etc and that will clue you in to the timing involved to play the card.

For example;

Jedi Mind Trick

This is an "Action", so you can only play it when you have an Action window, as shown in the flowchart on pages 30-31, in the blue boxes labeled "Player Actions".

Additionally, you will need to spend one Jedi resource, which can be done by focusing an appropriate Jedi-affiliated resource card, which in itself could be an Objective, a Unit, Enhancement, or your Faction Card.  Naturally, you cannot focus a card that already has one or more focus tokens on it already.

So using Jedi Mind Trick as an example, you could end your turn, as the Light Side player, with this card in your hand, and lets assume you have a free Jedi resource to spend.  On your opponent's turn, they make it to the conflict phase and opt to engage one of your Objectives.

After declaring attackers, and you declare defenders, the Edge battle happens.  Let's say you lost the edge battle, and you both have 2 units to attack with on each side.  After the edge battle is wholly resolved, but before your opponent would get the opportunity to strike with one of their units, you can then play Jedi Mind Trick in that action window and put a focus token (2 if the Force is with you) on one of the units, stopping it from striking.

At that point, your opponent will still be able to strike first, but only with the unit that was not focused.  You will then get to strike with your other two units.

I hope that answers your question.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS