Jump to content



Photo

quick rancor question


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Majeh_XIII

Majeh_XIII

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:39 PM

Does the rancor refresh action go off even if it does not remove a focus. And is this each players turn or only controllers turn?

#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,357 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:51 PM

It goes off on the controllers turn the card says "After you refresh,"

And it does not matter if he is exhausted.

exhausted
A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus
tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,
cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.
However, other card abilities of an exhausted card
may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)
are still active, as long as such abilities do not require
the card to focus, to be ready,
or are not otherwise
prohibited by the card text.



#3 DailyRich

DailyRich

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:55 PM

And it's a forced reaction, so it has to happen, even if it takes out one of your own units.



#4 D.Knight Sevus

D.Knight Sevus

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

Relevant card text:

Forced Reaction: After you refresh, destroy the lowest cost non-Vehicle unit in play. (In case of a tie, the active player decides.)

This means, during your refresh phase, after you've removed 1 focus token from each card you control, you must destroy the lowest cost non-Vehicle unit in play. During your oppnent's refresh phase, you do not refresh your cards, so the Forced Reaction of Rancor will not trigger. However, even if Rancor is exhausted after you refresh, the Forced Reaction will trigger.



#5 JamesBond

JamesBond

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:23 AM

So if the Rancor is the lowest cost non-vehicle in play, will he eat himself?

 

I would think yes, but I wanted others' opinions.

 

 



#6 VG Buzzsaw

VG Buzzsaw

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

I too would agree that if he was the lowest he would eat himself as it doesn't specify "Other" lowest cost non-vehicle.



#7 Arduwin

Arduwin

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:44 AM

Probably more like being the only one out there, desperatly seeking to devour someone and then unfortunately in despair tripping over his own feet, breaking his neck  sonreir

But yes, i would assume the same.



#8 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,430 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:09 PM

No assumption needed.  The rancor will indeed eat itself if there are no other potential meals of cost 4 or less available.



#9 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,679 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 03:04 PM

I maintain that starvation is the more thematic explanation, but now we're just talking semantics. Either way, Rancor is discarded when it's the last non-vehicle unit in play.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#10 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,430 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

Budgernaut said:

I maintain that starvation is the more thematic explanation, but now we're just talking semantics. Either way, Rancor is discarded when it's the last non-vehicle unit in play.

Starvation is the better explanation, but not near as funny. ;-)

#11 brakiss

brakiss

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 06:10 PM

It will eat itself like Pizza the Hutt…



#12 TonganJedi

TonganJedi

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 07:34 AM

I wondered if someone was going to use the Pizza the Hut reference.  There it is.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS