Jump to content



Photo

Reanimate activation question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Zwergenkrieger

Zwergenkrieger

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:11 AM

Hi everybody,

yes, there has been already lots of dicussion about this, but I still have an - at least for me ;) - important question.

According to mosts posts in this forum it seems to be obvious, that a reanimate can be activated during the turn it is summoned.

But the rulebook clearly states: "Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first." p.17
As the hero can't fullfill this "essential" requirement - the famliar isn't on the map and until the hero is activated  and summones the reanimate - he IMO cannot activate the familiar during the same turn.

Later on it is stated: "When activated, a familiar may perform a move action following the same rules as heroes. […] The familiar may perform additional types of actions during its activation, as noted on its Familiar card. " 
As the familiar can't be activated - due to the above mentioned requirement - it can't move and/or attack.

Does this make sense?

 

Best regards,
   Mario



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:07 PM

I agree with everyone else (so far), the Reanimate can activate the turn it is summoned.  Essentially does not mean "it is essential" in this case.

http://boardgamegeek...vation-question

http://www.pegasuspu...rt-p-26671.html



#3 Morthai

Morthai

    Member

  • Members
  • 165 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:08 PM

The famililar "reanimate" can be activated at the same turn it is summoned. It only is a general rule if he is on the board that you need to activate it before or after the controller's turn. Meaning nothing else than you cannot activate him midturn.



#4 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:02 PM

I think you are reading into it too much. Basically, the rules are stating that you can't split turns between you and your familiar. The rule is there because most heroes are solo, so they don't think twice about such a "small" detail - they perform two actions and pass the dice. If you play with a familiar, you are playing more in tune with the OL. Just like the OL must perform each individual monster's actions before another's, so, too must you commit fully to either your hero performing both actions before your familiar or visa versa. This may seem petty, but I can assure you it is not. The first time you try performing a Blast attack as you hero's first action while your familiar is in the radius will have you understand how NON-trivial the rule is. Enjoy!



#5 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:31 PM

As the question was asked on BGG the same day as here, and with about the same wording, I would suspect some form of "double posting".
Link here : http://www.boardgame...vation-question

 

Hi everybody,
 
yes, there has been already lots of dicussion about this, but I still have an - at least for me  - important question.
 
According to mosts posts in this forum it seems to be obvious, that a familiar, i.e. reanimate, can be activated during the turn it is summoned.
 
But the rulebook clearly states: "Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first." p.17
As the hero can't fullfill this "essential" requirement - the famliar isn't on the map and until the hero is activated and summones the reanimate - he IMO cannot activate the familiar during the same turn.
 
Later on it is stated: "When activated, a familiar may perform a move action following the same rules as heroes. […] The familiar may perform additional types of actions during its activation, as noted on its Familiar card. " 
As the familiar can't be activated - due to the above mentioned requirement - it can't move and/or attack.
 
Does this make sense?
 
 
 
Best regards,
Mario

 

The fact is that most posters on this forum also post on BGG's one.

So posting a question on both forums won't generate many different answers.

A better way to go, to have complementary answers to a question, is to send it to FFG (see bottom of page, Rules questions).


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#6 Weltenreiter

Weltenreiter

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 04:28 AM

Triu said:
Essentially does not mean "it is essential" in this case.
I tied to tell him that post 3ish in the BGG thread, but my opinion doesn't count because I'm german or something.

#7 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:46 AM

Weltenreiter said:
Triu said:
Essentially does not mean "it is essential" in this case.
I tied to tell him that post 3ish in the BGG thread, but my opinion doesn't count because I'm german or something.
Don't worry: I am in a worse situation. I am a French speaking Swiss citizen. Ein "Welcher". ;-)
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS