• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 pellwav

pellwav

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:22 AM

Hello.

I'm interested in running a RT game with a few friends. I'm kind of new to GMing and I was just wondering, how do you handle the players knowing more about the 40k universe and its setting. My friends have been playing / reading etc with this universe for a long time and have a more in-depth knowledge about the Imperium than I do.

Can you see this being a problem or is it just me reading too much into it? Just don't want to make something that seems unplausable / wrong lorewise that can break the mood of the game because of such a thing.

Thanks for your assistance.

Cheers // pellwav

#2 Alasseo

Alasseo

• Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:00 AM

I haven't had this problem with 40k, but it has cropped up in games I've run in other settings. If you're worried about it, the simplest and smoothest way of dealing with it is to state up front that this is your interpretation of the setting: It might not be totally in synch with current canon, but it's how things work in your campaign.

If there are things you feel some of your players will know better than you, and having fore-knowledge that you're going to use them in campaign isn't going to ruin suspense and tempt players into meta-gaming (or, at least tempt them into ruining other people's fun by meta-gaming), then feel free to speak to them beforehand to get their take on things. By the same token, feel free to completely ignore what they say if it conflicts with what you reckon is right.

And, as an extra resource- use fora and online communities like this one, Dark Reign, RPOL, etc., hell, even /tg/. There's usually some knowledgeable people willing to be friendly and give hints and tips on various points.

There is no right, and no wrong, but having the bigger stick makes it so...

#3 Cryhavok

Cryhavok

• Members
  • 354 posts