Jump to content



Photo

Mythos and Trauma cards.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 alxamp

alxamp

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:52 AM

I have some questions about these cards.

1) As a keeper when i draw a mythos card on an investigator and he isn't in the room that says the card i discard the mythos card and draw other?

2) When i play trauma card on a player and doesn't meet the criteria i discard it until i find one i can play on the player?

We played the first game and we have many questions.



#2 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:35 PM

alxamp said:

I have some questions about these cards.

1) As a keeper when i draw a mythos card on an investigator and he isn't in the room that says the card i discard the mythos card and draw other?

2) When i play trauma card on a player and doesn't meet the criteria i discard it until i find one i can play on the player?

We played the first game and we have many questions.

Welcome to the world of madness!!

1.  You actually can not play the mythos card on an investigator who is not in the listed room, so the mythos card stays in your hand.  The only way to draw a mythos card is by activating the keeper action which allows you to do so or through certain event effects.

2.  You can't play a trauma card on an investigator that does not meet the criteria, so the trauma card remains in your hand.  The only way to draw a trauma card is by activating the keeper action which allows you to do so or through certain event effects.

For both card types, the keeper may only have 4 of each card type in his hand at any given time.  So, if the keeper ever wants to or has to draw more mythos or trauma cards, but already has a full hand of either card type, then the keeper must discard any card of his choice to draw them.  For example, if the keeper has 4 mythos cards and 4 trauma cards in hand and during his keeper action phase, pays 1 threat to activate his "Evil Presence" keeper action card, then he must first discard any 1 mythos card AND any 1 trauma card from his hand, and then he may draw 1 of each.



#3 alxamp

alxamp

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:37 PM

So if the keeper take a mythos or trauma card he keep the card if he has lower than 4?



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:43 PM

You can even take cards if you already have 4 of each type in hand, just have to discard down to 4 after you've drawn the extra cards.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 alxamp

alxamp

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:33 PM

So i can keep mythos and trauma cards when i draw them or only if i have a card that tells me to draw a mythos and/or trauma card?



#6 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:52 AM

The only times the keeper may draw mythos or trauma cards is (1) during keeper setup (at the end of setup, under step 6 of keeper setup, "Starting Cards and Threat"), it tells you how many of each type of card, mythos and/or trauma, if any, to start out with; or (2) by paying threat to activate a keeper action during the keeper action phase (the keeper action cards are called "Evil Presence" and "Dark Ritual"- you will only use 1 of these keeper actions, depending on the scenario you are playing); or (3) if an event instructs the keeper to do so (for example, under 1B of event IV of the "Green-eyed Boy" scenario it instructs the keeper to draw 3 mythos cards.  You cannot freely draw mythos or trauma cards.  You must wait for the game to instruct you to draw them or you must pay threat to draw them, according to your specific keeper action card.

Once you have drawn mythos or trauma cards, you keep them in your hand until you play them.  Once they've been played, they are discarded and never seen again until your mythos or trauma draw decks are empty and you need to reshuffle your mythos or trauma discard piles.  If you DON'T play mythos or trauma cards they STAY in your hand until you have 4 of each in your hand.  This means you may have a total of 8 cards in your hand, 4 mythos and 4 trauma.  If you ever get more than 4 mythos and/or 4 trauma, you must discard down to 4 of that card type.  You may never have more than 4 mythos cards in your hand and you may never have more than 4 trauma cards in your hand.

You may only play mythos cards on an investigator DURING their turn, never during the keeper's turn.  If a mythos card has a room requirement listed on it, then you may only play it, during an investigator's turn, if they start in that room or move into it during their movement or action phase.

You may only play trauma cards IMMEDIATELY after an investigator has taken damage or horror.  If the trauma card has a number listed in the upper right corner of the card, then you may only play the card IMMEDIATELY after an investigator has taken damage or horror AND has remaining health or sanity equal to or less than the number shown.

All of these rules are explained on page 11, 16, and 25 of the rulebook.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS