Jump to content



Photo

Draw Their Fire & The Senator's Shuttle


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 AnsibleTheta

AnsibleTheta

    Member

  • Members
  • 125 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:39 AM

The text for handling damage in the Political Escort mission offers two different methods for handling critical hits to the shuttle in the same sentence.  I don't have the book in front of me ATM but it goes something like "Change any # results to * results (i.e. deal all damage cards to the shuttle face down)"  The first half implies a functionality similar to focus or marksman, changing critical die results to non-critical during attack modification step, before agility is rolled.  The second half in parenthesis seems more akin to Chewbacca's unique skill, flipping face up damage cards face down immediately without resolving their effect. 

In most cases this is irrelevent, except if you're using the squad builing variant.  If I wanted to put Draw their Fire on one of the escort ships, and it works like the first half of the sentence implies, DTF is useless, since there will be no uncanceled critical hits to draw away.  If it works how the parathetical implies, DTF becomes a cheap addition to extend the longevity of the shuttle and complete the mission.

So how is it supposed to work?  Thank you for your time.



#2 Carist

Carist

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:58 PM

 

Shuttle Damage: For each damage the 
shuttle suffers, place one Damage card facedown 
on top of the facedown Rebel Ship card (placed 
during setup). Change all  [critical] results against the 
senator’s shuttle to [hit] results (i.e., do not deal 
Damage cards faceup to the senator’s shuttle).
 
 
Draw Their Fire
 
When a friendly ship at Range 1 is hit by an attack, you may suffer 1 of the uncanceled [critical] results instead of the target ship.
 
 
Looks to me like you change all crits to normal hits before the ship is actually hit, and since Draw Their Fire only kicks in after the ship is hit, it would not work.


#3 AnsibleTheta

AnsibleTheta

    Member

  • Members
  • 125 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 04:02 AM

That makes sense.  When in doubt, favor the standart text over the parenthetical.  On a similar train of thought, if Backstabber gets an extra attack die when outside the defender's firing arc, does he get 3 red dice when shooting at a ship without a firing arc, like the senator's shuttle, or does there need to be a firing arc for his ability to trigger??



#4 Carist

Carist

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 05:43 AM

That question is actually covered in the FAQ:

 

 
Q: Does the Senator’s Shuttle token have a 
firing arc?
A: No. All ships are considered to be outside the 
Senator’s Shuttle token’s firing arc.
 
 
 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS