Jump to content



Photo

Help with rules for Berzerker rage….


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 MosesGood

MosesGood

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:03 AM

Rage
{action}: Perform an attack with a Melee weapon.
This attack gains +1 {heart}.

Cost: 1 Fatigue

 

Since this is an action and attacking is also an action…. how does this card actually play?  Someone please clarify. Does is cost 2 actions to play this card? the reason i'm asking is because at the beginning of the dialogue of the card is an action arrow which means to use this card costs an action. This was a pretty large debate at my last session as an Overlord.



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:00 PM

It costs one action and allows the hero to perform an attack (with a melee weapon only) and then add +1 heart to the roll.  It's really not that complicated, and I fear for the future of your group if this is all it takes to start a huge rules arguement.  No offense intended.

If it helps you to visualize this, think of it like this:  There's the Attack Action and then there's "making an attack."  The Attack Action is an action which any hero or monster may perform (at least once) during their respective turns.  "Making an attack" is to follow the sequence of steps described in the rulebook under "Combat" on page 12.

The Attack action allows any figure capable of performing it to "make an attack."  Certain skill cards and monster abilities also allow the concerned figure to "make an attack," usually with a few extra bonuses or caveats.  These skills and abilities, however, do not cost an action unless they say they do on their respective cards, and that would be a "Use a Skill" action, if it applies.  (Note that the vast majority of skills and abilities that allow a figure to make an attack also require an action.  Go figure.)

Also note that the rules for monsters explicitly state that any ability which allows the monster to "make an attack" also counts as that figure's one attack for the turn.



#3 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:04 PM

You are probably going to get the same answers as on BGG:

http://boardgamegeek...-berzerker-rage

If you want an answer from FFG, I think you need to submit via the Rules Questions link at the bottom of the page:

http://www.fantasyfl...om/edge_faq.asp

I have rarely seen FFG respond to posts …






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS