I know there have been a couple responses already (and good ones at that), but I just wanted to elaborate further on some of the points they have brought up, and offer a few other insights that might be of use.
1. Unfortunately, when the runner is out of cards, the runner is out of cards. He/She gets no love from the rules in this case. Usually this is a losing situation for the runner, as it typically means they have run out of credit-generating cards, but I have seen a runner or two pull out a win even in this dire situation.
2. The answers to this question thus far are correct, but I noticed you phrased your question in a way similar to previous posters that eventually led to lots of confusion. Just to be clear, Subroutines on ICE are "broken", not ICE themselves. I know this seems rather minor, but given the way some other conversations turned out in regards to this issue, I think it would be best to make sure it is very clear exactly what gets broken.
As far as the question itself, you and the others are correct. You can use the same icebreaker to break subroutines on multiple pieces of ICE during the same run (and on every run for that matter). The only two conditions that need to be fulfilled in order to use an icebreaker are: 1) The icebreaker's strength matches the ICE's strength; and 2) the icebreaker is able to break subroutines of the type matching the ICE, or can just break any kind of subroutine (ex. Crypsis and Wyrm).
There is no need for a different icebreaker that breaks the same type of subroutines, unless maybe you are going for efficiency, since some icebreakers break subroutines on certain ICE for cheaper than others. However, in the long run, it is usually best to just use one icebreaker per type of ICE. Makes it easier to focus your deck, and is more efficient with your MU.
3. Personal Touch (as well as any other card) cannot be moved once it is installed. The icebreaker you choose for Personal Touch will keep Personal Touch until either that icebreaker is trashed, or Personal Touch is trashed. If that never happens, then Personal Touch will stay put.
Generally speaking, the rule about installed cards not being moved around doesn't often matter for the Runner, and most players tend to move cards around anyway, just to better organize their rig. However, it will matter for cards like Parasite, Djinn, and, of course, Personal Touch. You just have to remember that once a card is installed, that's it. You can't move a program onto Djinn later on if you've already installed it normally. You can't move a Parasite from one ICE to another, nor can you play it onto Djinn to conserve MU. Likewise, Personal Touch will stay with the program of choice for the lifetime of that program, or for the lifetime of Personal Touch, whichever is shorter.
4. There are a few uses for running Archives:
- 1) Information. You don't always get to see what the Corp trashes, so you might want to run the archives just so you know exactly what has been trashed, and what might still be left in the deck. It's not often a useful tactic, but it can come in handy now and then.
- 2) Agendas. There are several ways that agendas can end up in the Archives. Why would the Corp player discard an agenda? Because you asked the question. The fact that you are asking suggests that you think it illogical for any Corp player to ever willingly discard an agenda, and some Corp players may prey on such notions by attempting to hide agendas in their Archives. I myself have successfully hidden agends in my archives on numerous occasions, even undefended. I can only recall one time where a runner actually called my bluff. So, when playing the runner, it is always best to keep the Corp honest. Don't ever take for granted the idea that the Corp would never discard an agenda.
- 3) Datasucker. Most Corp players don't usually care to defend their Archives all that heavily, so if you use Datasuckers to fuel your icebreakers, then Archives is the most logical server to attack to build them up when you need to get them going.
- 4) TBA. We still have a fairly limited pool of cards to work with. Who knows what other devious cards the runners will get to manipulate the Archives. I wouldn't be surprised if there comes a time when every Corp player makes significant efforts to wall up their Archives just as much as HQ and R&D, just to prevent the possibility of some nasty runner card(s) ruining their day.
5. Information is power! I'm sure you've heard that phrase before, and it holds true in this case as well. Knowing what the Corp player is about to get can be of great use to the runner, if only to have an idea of what they are about to face. Plus, if you manage to snag an agenda, that's just icing on the cake!
And you are actually incorrect on trashing cards. Only cards with a trash icon can be trashed. If there is no icon, the runner cannot trash that card. They will only get to look at it, and then it goes back on top (unless it's an agenda, of course).
A good strategy for any Runner would be to make a run on R&D at least once a turn, and as early in the turn as possible. That way, you're able to see a lot of what is coming for the Corp, and you can likely get to any agendas before the Corp player. Of course, just like any strategy, there are a few exceptions to this.
6. You can indeed spend any number of credits to boost its strength. However, it is (currently) of no benefit to you, as each icebreaker (with a few explicit exceptions) resets its strength after each encounter with a piece of ICE, so all those credits you spent to boost the strength will go to waste unless you were able to use the boost for some reason (like breaking subroutines).
7. The Nisei Mark II is, as far as I can tell, the second generation of Nisei precogs in the Android universe, which basically means… I don't really have a clue what they are , other than they are very Minority Report-ish in flavor.
As far as the ability goes, the portion about the agenda counter follows the standard "cost: effect" model outlined in the rules for Paid Abilities (pg. 21, Core Rulebook). Thus, the cost for the ability is spending the agenda counter on the card (discarding it), and the effect is to end a run currently in progress. This ability can be used any time a paid ability can normally be used during a run. For more information on when you can use it, you should refer to the Run Timing Chart in the back of the rulebook.
8. There is not really any good reason to have both Magnum Opus and Armitage Codebusting in play at the same time. However, that does not necessarily mean it is not a good idea to have both in the same deck. Magnum Opus is good to have in the early game, when you just need to build your economy, but the 2 MU cost can get in the way later on, so you will probably want to overwrite it at some point. Having Armitage in your deck can allow you to deal with losing Magnum Opus by still giving you that option to keep building up your economy, just on a more limited basis.
Some players feel that just using one or the other is usually a better idea, and it can be, given the right circumstances. If you are willing to invest in MU-building cards, like Akamatsu Mem Chip, The Toolbox, Grimoire, or even Djinn, then just having Magnum Opus is probably a good call, as you probably won't need to worry about running out of MU. However, if you have a hard time paying higher costs (5+ credits), and just want something quick and easy, Armitage is probably going to be your go-to card. It just really depends on your style of play, and what you feel your deck can handle.
9. Always a tricky question to answer, but the general rule of thumb is: any card that the runner was able to see at the time it was trashed goes in face-up. Everything else goes in face-down. So, if the runner is paying a trash cost to trash an asset or upgrade, that means they saw it, so it goes in face-up. If the Corp player is overwriting ICE cards during an action in which he/she installs another piece of ICE, it goes in face-up if the trashed ICE was rezzed, or face-down if it was unrezzed. If the Corp plays an operation, the runner gets to see the operation, so it is trashed face-up when the Corp finishes resolving its ability. If the Corp has more cards in hand than their hand limit at the end of their turn, they must discard down, and since the runner doesn't have viewing privileges at that time, the discarded cards go face-down.
The only thing that can be a bit confusing in regard to this rule is Noise's identity ability (trash the top card of R&D after playing a virus). Just know that when you use Noise's ability, the trashed card goes face-down, since the runner was not viewing it at that point in time.
10. Assets are always installed face-down (with vertical orientation) into a remote server, even ambush assets. Just like most any other cards the Corp player installs, they are inactive until rezzed (or accessed, in the case of ambush assets).
11. Pipeline can indeed be used to break Hunter's subroutine. It would be very costly without any help from other cards (7 credits), but it is indeed possible.
For that matter, any subroutine that causes a trace to happen can be broken with the right icebreaker, which allows the runner to simply avoid the trace altogether. However, sometimes it might actually be cheaper for the Runner to just let the trace happen, and either pay it off, or deal with the consequences of a successful trace. It just all depends on the situation.
12. Ambush/trap cards are only ever trashed if either the Runner chooses to trash them when they access them, or when the Corp player overwrites them by installing a new asset or agenda into the same server. In the case of the Runner trashing them, the card is placed face-up in the Archives. In the case of the Corp trashing them, it is only placed face-up in the Archives if the card was rezzed. Otherwise, it is placed in the Archives face-down.
13. Indeed, that is not the case. The only drawing that the Corp is required to do, by rule, is to draw 1 card at the start of his or her turn, and the only discarding that the Corp is required to do, by rule, is discarding down to maximum handsize (5, unless otherwise modified by card abilities) at the end of his or her turn. All other card drawing/discarding is going to be dictated by card abilities, or by the Corp player spending actions (clicks) to draw cards.
I hope this helps some.