Jump to content



Photo

Some questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mrrruczit

mrrruczit

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

Hey guys! Recently I've played Descent 2nd edition with friends and have couple of questions, hoping that you will clarify it a bit :)

 

1. Choosing next quest - tell me if I understand it right (I'm using the Record-keeping and storage from page 21)

A) First Blood won by OL, so for the next quest he chooses A Fat Goblin <can he choose any of the Act I quests?>

B) Fat Goblin won by Heroes, and they chose Maquerade Ball. <can they choose any of the Act I quests?>

C) Ball won by OL, he chose Death on the Wing and lose it

D) Heroes won 2 quests from 3, so The Shadow Vault (Interlude 1) must be played.

D1) <"It’s important to note that, for the purposes

of determining which Act II quest is available, any Act I quest that the heroes did not attempt is assumed to have ended in an overlord victory." - so OL always win at least 2 quests? Why?>

E) In the Act 2 they must play The monster's hoard, The twin idols and The wyrm turns in that order.  <we can play only those 3 quest? It must be in that order?>

F) If the Heroes win 2 quests again, there will be Finale 1.

 

2. Do OL Lieutenants count as monsters? When OL/Heroes card/skill says "monster", it means also Lieutenant? Can Lieutenant attack twice, or only once like monsters?

 

3. I think Reanimate is a bit overpowered, or we play it wrong ;)

Necromancer can call it on his first action, attack himself, then activate the Reanimate, move and attack. If OL don't kill it, next round Necromancer can attack twice himself and once(?) with Reanimate. If OL kills Reanimate, he doesn't gain card like for killing Hero, and Necromancer call the Reanimate for no cost (except the action) again his round.

 

4. If the monster/Lieutenant has ability, which is attack (Lord Farrow - Ignite) does it count like attack, so he must choose - attack normally or the special attack, or is it the ability, so doesn't count as attack?

 

5. Items from loot (potions) are one-time use for quest, but can be selled even if used?

 

Those are questions 'for start', thank you all for any answers! :)



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:26 PM

mrrruczit said:

Hey guys! Recently I've played Descent 2nd edition with friends and have couple of questions, hoping that you will clarify it a bit :)

 

1. Choosing next quest - tell me if I understand it right (I'm using the Record-keeping and storage from page 21)

A) First Blood won by OL, so for the next quest he chooses A Fat Goblin

B) Fat Goblin won by Heroes, and they chose Maquerade Ball.

C) Ball won by OL, he chose Death on the Wing and lose it

D) Heroes won 2 quests from 3, so The Shadow Vault (Interlude 1) must be played.

D1) <"It’s important to note that, for the purposes

of determining which Act II quest is available, any Act I quest that the heroes did not attempt is assumed to have ended in an overlord victory." - so OL always win at least 2 quests? Why?>

E) In the Act 2 they must play The monster's hoard, The twin idols and The wyrm turns in that order.  

F) If the Heroes win 2 quests again, there will be Finale 1.

 

2. Do OL Lieutenants count as monsters? When OL/Heroes card/skill says "monster", it means also Lieutenant? Can Lieutenant attack twice, or only once like monsters?

 

3. I think Reanimate is a bit overpowered, or we play it wrong ;)

Necromancer can call it on his first action, attack himself, then activate the Reanimate, move and attack. If OL don't kill it, next round Necromancer can attack twice himself and once(?) with Reanimate. If OL kills Reanimate, he doesn't gain card like for killing Hero, and Necromancer call the Reanimate for no cost (except the action) again his round.

 

4. If the monster/Lieutenant has ability, which is attack (Lord Farrow - Ignite) does it count like attack, so he must choose - attack normally or the special attack, or is it the ability, so doesn't count as attack?

 

5. Items from loot (potions) are one-time use for quest, but can be selled even if used?

 

Those are questions 'for start', thank you all for any answers! :)

1. You got it almost right.
D1 : the unplayed quests are considered OL's victory just for choosing the ActII quest depending on their result.
E : they still have choice among 5 quests.

2. Lieutenants are monsters and may only attack once (unless Frenzy is used)

3. You got it right. Note that the use of one action is an important cost. And Mr Bones has no defense dice, so he is easily dispatched.

4. If the word "attack" is in the definition of the action, it counts as an attack. Otherwise not.

 


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:26 AM

mrrruczit said:

of determining which Act II quest is available, any Act I quest that the heroes did not attempt is assumed to have ended in an overlord victory." - so OL always win at least 2 quests? Why?>

There are a total of 10 Act II quests in the campaign, two for each Act I quest.  These Act II quests are linked to their respective Act I quest both in theme and in purpose.  In some cases, there are relics which must belong to either the heroes or the OL at the beginning of the Act II quest(s) involved and who has it is determined by who won the Act I quest.

Therefore, it is important that each Act I quest has a "winner" among heroes and OL, so that the approriate Act II quest can be played as it should be.  The rule about the OL winning any Act I quests that weren't attempted is just to provide a definite answer to the question of "who won a quest we didn't play?"

Note that the total number of quests won by each side has absoltuely no bearing on the outcome of the campaign.  The side that wins the finale wins it all, even if the finale is the only quest they actually did win in the entire campaign.  The OL doesn't gain any mechanical advantage by having the two unplayed Act I quests "awarded" to him after the interlude.

mrrruczit said:

E) In the Act 2 they must play The monster's hoard, The twin idols and The wyrm turns in that order.  

No; whoever wins the interlude decides which of the 5 available Act II quests will get played next.  Whoever wins that quest picks the enxt one, etc.  The same way as in Act I.  Which of the two Act II quests is available for each set depends on who won the linked Act I quest.  The OL is considered to have won the two quests that weren't played for determining which quest is available in Act II.

mrrruczit said:

2. Do OL Lieutenants count as monsters? When OL/Heroes card/skill says "monster", it means also Lieutenant? Can Lieutenant attack twice, or only once like monsters?

Yes, LTs are monsters and may be targeted by any effect that says "monster."  Unless the effect explicitly excludes Lieutenants, of course.

mrrruczit said:

If OL kills Reanimate, he doesn't gain card like for killing Hero, and Necromancer call the Reanimate for no cost (except the action) again his round.

Summoning the Reanimate costs 1 fatigue as well as an action (that's what the the fatigue symbol in the lower right corner of the card means.)  Also, as Robin mentions, an action is no small cost to pay for any effect in this game.

mrrruczit said:

4. If the monster/Lieutenant has ability, which is attack (Lord Farrow - Ignite) does it count like attack, so he must choose - attack normally or the special attack, or is it the ability, so doesn't count as attack?

It counts as an attack if the text of the ability says "make an attack."  (Ignite is indeed an attack.)  Yes, if the monster uses an ability that makes an attack, that counts as its one attack for the turn.

Most attack abilities will require an action to use, however, not all abilities that require an action are necessarily attacks.

mrrruczit said:

5. Items from loot (potions) are one-time use for quest, but can be selled even if used?

Yes, search cards may be sold even if they were consumed during the quest.  In fact, search cards must be sold at the end of the quest, whether they were used or not.  Otherwise the Search deck would quickly be reduced to just the Treasure Chest and the Nothing cards and the heroes would be laughing their way past the Searching element of the game.

I like to think of it as a "potion bottle recycling" policy.  Merchants will pay good coin for empty potion bottles and reuse them later, like beer bottles in the real world (only you get a sizable amount of coin for potion bottles. =P)



#4 mrrruczit

mrrruczit

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:49 AM

Thank you guys for explaining that!



#5 Krasorias

Krasorias

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 07:11 AM

I have a question. Forgive me for bumping such an old thread but I was wondering the same thing just like the OP and now that I found this thread and the thorough answers of Steve-O I can't help myself but ask here.

As the OL, do I receive the rewards of the quests the players did not attempt?



#6 AiriusTorpora

AiriusTorpora

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 08:08 AM

I have a question. Forgive me for bumping such an old thread but I was wondering the same thing just like the OP and now that I found this thread and the thorough answers of Steve-O I can't help myself but ask here.

As the OL, do I receive the rewards of the quests the players did not attempt?

 

On rewards only specific rumor quests to the extent the cards say that you do.

 

On some quest setups it will say to do X if the overlord won the quest. If that quest was unplayed, you assume the overlord won the quest for setup purposes.


  • Krasorias likes this

#7 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 09:16 AM

 

I have a question. Forgive me for bumping such an old thread but I was wondering the same thing just like the OP and now that I found this thread and the thorough answers of Steve-O I can't help myself but ask here.

As the OL, do I receive the rewards of the quests the players did not attempt?

 

On rewards only specific rumor quests to the extent the cards say that you do.

 

On some quest setups it will say to do X if the overlord won the quest. If that quest was unplayed, you assume the overlord won the quest for setup purposes.

 

Correct. However, just to be clear- say that neither "The Dawnlade" or "The Desecrated Tomb" is played, the OL would not just receive the Duskblade to equip to any lieutenant he chooses. 


  • Krasorias likes this

#8 Krasorias

Krasorias

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 01:32 PM

 

I have a question. Forgive me for bumping such an old thread but I was wondering the same thing just like the OP and now that I found this thread and the thorough answers of Steve-O I can't help myself but ask here.

As the OL, do I receive the rewards of the quests the players did not attempt?

 

On rewards only specific rumor quests to the extent the cards say that you do.

 

On some quest setups it will say to do X if the overlord won the quest. If that quest was unplayed, you assume the overlord won the quest for setup purposes.

 

what is a rumour quest?



#9 Krasorias

Krasorias

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 01:34 PM

 

 

I have a question. Forgive me for bumping such an old thread but I was wondering the same thing just like the OP and now that I found this thread and the thorough answers of Steve-O I can't help myself but ask here.

As the OL, do I receive the rewards of the quests the players did not attempt?

 

On rewards only specific rumor quests to the extent the cards say that you do.

 

On some quest setups it will say to do X if the overlord won the quest. If that quest was unplayed, you assume the overlord won the quest for setup purposes.

 

Correct. However, just to be clear- say that neither "The Dawnlade" or "The Desecrated Tomb" is played, the OL would not just receive the Duskblade to equip to any lieutenant he chooses. 

 

Thank you, exactly what I needed.
Unfortunately I haven't played a campaign yet with my friends and I still don't know what scenario can occur so I'm guessing the Duskblade is the only obtainable item that you can go without(?)



#10 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts

Posted 09 September 2014 - 03:49 PM

Rumor quests are part of the mini-campaign expansions. They can be incorporated into larger campaigns as "side quests." In "The Shadow Rune" there are several quests which will award a relic (special item not available in the shops) to the victor. One of those is the Dawnblade (or the Duskblade, which is the corresponding relic for the OL.) I want to say there are about 6 relics in the campaign, but you'll probably only encounter a few of them based on what you play (or don't play,) since there are 5 possible quests for act 1 and 10 possible for Act 2, but you only play a total of 3 from each act.



#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 11 September 2014 - 08:47 PM

Thank you, exactly what I needed.
Unfortunately I haven't played a campaign yet with my friends and I still don't know what scenario can occur so I'm guessing the Duskblade is the only obtainable item that you can go without(?)


There are many relics that can be left behind if the corresponding quest does not get played during the campaign.

The point is that the Overlord only counts as "winning" unplayed Act I quests for the purpose of determining which Act II quests are available to choose from. No rewards from unplayed quests are ever handed out, to the Overlord or to the Heroes.

Edited by Steve-O, 11 September 2014 - 08:47 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS