Jump to content



Photo

Have had one play-through, have many questions …


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 juggernaut1002

juggernaut1002

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:03 PM

Let's get right to it …

1) If monster tokens are scouted and revealed to be blank, are they discarded?

2) If a moved-to location is perilous and contains a monster and/or a minion, is the game mechanic-y way of dealing with this (from the hero's perspective, if Sauron chooses to resolve peril)

  a) Resolve the peril

  b) Finish the turn there

  c) Remove influence during Saurons turn

  d) Ambush the monster/minion

3) It seems as though the heroes have limited capability to initiate combat in perilous locations occupied by monster/minions - if you move out of a location and back to it during the same turn, does Sauron have to choose something different the second time?

4) Are event cards that remain in play (e.g. the ones that move Sauron's markers) not discarded from the board until another such event is drawn?  This isn't clear.

5) The text of many cards could use a comma to clarify choices.

6) Do exhausted combatants have a "printed offense/defense value of zero"?

 

Thanks in advance!



#2 Persiatic

Persiatic

    Member

  • Members
  • 139 posts

Posted 01 January 2013 - 10:57 PM

juggernaut1002 said:

Let's get right to it …

1) If monster tokens are scouted and revealed to be blank, are they discarded?

2) If a moved-to location is perilous and contains a monster and/or a minion, is the game mechanic-y way of dealing with this (from the hero's perspective, if Sauron chooses to resolve peril)

  a) Resolve the peril

  b) Finish the turn there

  c) Remove influence during Saurons turn

  d) Ambush the monster/minion

3) It seems as though the heroes have limited capability to initiate combat in perilous locations occupied by monster/minions - if you move out of a location and back to it during the same turn, does Sauron have to choose something different the second time?

4) Are event cards that remain in play (e.g. the ones that move Sauron's markers) not discarded from the board until another such event is drawn?  This isn't clear.

5) The text of many cards could use a comma to clarify choices.

6) Do exhausted combatants have a "printed offense/defense value of zero"?

 

Thanks in advance!

Hi

1. If you mean scouted with Araglads special ability then no, it's not discarded, but if you move a character to a non-peril location with a monster token you have to flip it and it will be discarded if it's blank.

2/3. It's not in the official rules but have been answered by game designer that if you move into a space which is poth peril and has a monster/minion and Sauron chooses peril for you, then after you have resolved the peril you may during your explore step choose to fight the monster/minion as well. I beleive it's in some thread in boardgamegeek forum.  

4. It should be  explained on the event card that if the heroes explore the affected location they can remove the event marker (thus stopping the movement of the Sauron marker)

6. I'm not 100% about the printed attack/defence but in the rules it says that when a hero is exhasted the attack/defence of that hero is 0. So I would say yes.



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,258 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:22 AM

juggernaut1002 said:

6) Do exhausted combatants have a "printed offense/defense value of zero"?

Sadly, no, making Attack of Opportunity even weaker than it is. If you fear your opponent has AoO and you have only 0 shield cards in hand, it is safer to declare yourself exhausted instead of playing a card. This ruling, along with the designer clarification on questions 2-3 (of which there is zero basis to be found in the rules) are the most disappointing rulings for me. Still love the game, but those do dampen the mood quite a bit.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS