Jump to content



Photo

Some questions


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Ditrii

Ditrii

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:35 AM

Hello everyone

During the last TI game our litte group of players came up with a few questions:

 

1) When can TGs, if ever, be used as votes? Does the Mentak race tech allow one TG to count as 2 votes in such a case?

2) Regarding a Public Objective Card: "I now spend 10 resources or 10 influence." - can TGs be used alone or along with planetary funds to claim this?

3) Regarding two representative councillors: Ta Zern of the Jol-Nar and Dirzuga Mantasa of the Arborec.

Ta Zern: "Gain +1 vote for each Tech card you have researched"

D. Mantasa: "Other councillors do not recieve bonus votes during this voting"

Now, I would argue that a "bonus vote" is the little number outlined by red in the upper left corner of the card and not the +1 vote pr. tech ability.

So: does the Arborec councillor stop only the 2 Bonus votes of Ta Zern, or does he also stop all the + votes from the ability?

4) When one has aquired the tech Fleet Logistics, does one then have to take two tactical actions when its one's turn, or is it optional?

5) Regarding the Mercenary Daffren: "At the start of the Strategy Phase, you may give this Mercenary to another player to trade SCs with that player. Limit once per round." - Do this another player have to trade his SC or is it optional?

 

Thank you for your time



#2 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:48 AM

Ditrii said:

Hello everyone

During the last TI game our litte group of players came up with a few questions:

 

1) When can TGs, if ever, be used as votes? Does the Mentak race tech allow one TG to count as 2 votes in such a case?

2) Regarding a Public Objective Card: "I now spend 10 resources or 10 influence." - can TGs be used alone or along with planetary funds to claim this?

3) Regarding two representative councillors: Ta Zern of the Jol-Nar and Dirzuga Mantasa of the Arborec.

Ta Zern: "Gain +1 vote for each Tech card you have researched"

D. Mantasa: "Other councillors do not recieve bonus votes during this voting"

Now, I would argue that a "bonus vote" is the little number outlined by red in the upper left corner of the card and not the +1 vote pr. tech ability.

So: does the Arborec councillor stop only the 2 Bonus votes of Ta Zern, or does he also stop all the + votes from the ability?

4) When one has aquired the tech Fleet Logistics, does one then have to take two tactical actions when its one's turn, or is it optional?

5) Regarding the Mercenary Daffren: "At the start of the Strategy Phase, you may give this Mercenary to another player to trade SCs with that player. Limit once per round." - Do this another player have to trade his SC or is it optional?

 

Thank you for your time

1) Never, as stated on page 23 of the main rules. The Mentak's racial tech only allows TGs to count as 2 resources, it does not effect the influence value.

2) Yes, they can be used in conjuction with the use of planets for the resorces or influence being spent.

3) It stops all bonus votes, including those bonus votes gained by the card's special ability.

4) One action is still optional, as it says 'you may', instead of a 'you now', or 'you must'.

5) It is not optional for the other player, they gain the Merc and your Strategy Card, and you gain their Strategy Card.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,648 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:05 AM

Ditrii said:

1) When can TGs, if ever, be used as votes? Does the Mentak race tech allow one TG to count as 2 votes in such a case?

TGs cannot be used as votes.  They can be spent as influence, but not used as votes.  The number of votes a player has is dependent on the number of unspent influence he controls from his planets, but he does not actual spend  influence to get those votes - the planets are not tapped by voting alone.

Ditrii said:

2) Regarding a Public Objective Card: "I now spend 10 resources or 10 influence." - can TGs be used alone or along with planetary funds to claim this?

Yes, you can use TGs alone to pay this cost, or you can mix it with planets to make up the amount required.  Note that you must spend 10 influence or 10 resources.  You cannot tap one planet for influence and another for resources and add it all up to a total of 10.

Ditrii said:

5) Regarding the Mercenary Daffren: "At the start of the Strategy Phase, you may give this Mercenary to another player to trade SCs with that player. Limit once per round." - Do this another player have to trade his SC or is it optional?

Of course he has to give you his SC.  Why would you want to give another player this merc and your SC if he could simply choose not to give you anything in return?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS