Jump to content



Photo

Using the same OL card twice during a turn?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Zwergenkrieger

Zwergenkrieger

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:06 AM

Hi everybody,

I was wondering if it is allowed to play, i.e. two times dash on my ettin monster, during one turn.

I read about a rule in this forum, that you are not allowed to play the same OL card twice on the same monster group, but I didn't found a reference and I didn't found these rules neithe rin the rule book, nor in the faq.

I found "Two Overlord cards with the same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same triggering condition.  " in the rules (p.16), but the monster group isn't a triggering condition, or?

Can anyone help?

 

BR,

   Mario



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:16 AM

Dash: "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn. That monster may perform an additional move action this turn in addition to its normal 2 actions."

My understanding is that the triggering condition is "when activating a monster" & the target is the Ettin, so you can't Dash it twice during the same activation.  You could Dash another monster during the same turn.



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:17 AM

No, you can't 2x Dash on an Ettin because Dash's trigger is "during a monster's activation". However, if you have 2 Ettins, you can Dash the minion, then Dash the master (or vice versa).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 Zwergenkrieger

Zwergenkrieger

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:29 AM

Thanks a lot! That sounds good to me. :)



#5 Zwergenkrieger

Zwergenkrieger

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:43 AM

Same thing but different: 

Playing twice a "Unholy ritual" card during a turn, choosing the same monster, is not allowed, too?
Is this a triggering condition, too? If yes, is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?



#6 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:52 AM

Zwergenkrieger said:

Same thing but different: 

Playing twice a "Unholy ritual" card during a turn, choosing the same monster, is not allowed, too?
Is this a triggering condition, too? If yes, is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?

Unholy Ritual: "Play this card at the start of your turn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equal to the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keep 1 card per hero and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less action during this turn."

I believe the triggering condition is "at the start of your turn" & the target is "one of your monster groups", so you can't use it twice.  FFG doesn't seem to be big on explicit definitions, at least in D2E …



#7 RagsMckay

RagsMckay

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:00 AM

For clarification. On page 16 of the rule book goes over this fairly well. Here is what it states:

 

Each card specifies when it may be played. Two Overlord cards with the
same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same
triggering condition. After resolving the effects of an Overlord card, place
it faceup in the discard pile.

 

Hopefully that helps.


I die...A lot.


#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,655 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:47 AM

Triu said:

FFG doesn't seem to be big on explicit definitions, at least in D2E …

FFG has a reputation for not always being as explicit as they could be about their rules.

 

Zwergenkrieger said:

is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?

A "triggering condition" is defined as the condition after which the card is allowed to be played, based on the text the card contains.  Generally speaking, it is not difficult to tell what the triggering condition of a card is, although sometimes the precise timing of a triggering condition can get murky.

Some examples:

1) "Play at the start of your turn…"  The triggering condition is the start of your turn.  The "start of your turn" is widely accepted as being up until you begin activating monsters, if I'm not very much mistaken.  You may only play one copy of this card per turn, since your turn only starts once for each turn you have.

2) "Play when activating a monster…" The triggering condition is you activating a single monster (NOT a monster group, mind you.)  You can only play one copy of this card per monster activation, but you may play several copies of the card per turn, each on a separate monster which you activate.  Note in general that monster groups are not activated, only individual monsters.  The rules say you must activate all monsters belonging to a group in sequence, but you don't actually activate the group as a whole.

3) "Play during an attack…" The triggering condition is that you are in the midst of making an attack against an enemy target.  You may only play one copy on this card per attack, however, if a single monster is able to make two attacks in one turn, you may play a copy of this card on each attack, if you have two of them.  Generally speaking, you may wait until after dice are rolled to use the card, unless it specifically says "play before dice are rolled" or "play when declaring an attack."  The term "during" an attack is usually meant to refer to the step where surges and abilities are used, which is after dice are rolled.



#9 Zwergenkrieger

Zwergenkrieger

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:44 PM

Thanks to all of you and a happy new year!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS