Jump to content



Photo

Despair and Triumph


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 bandersnee

bandersnee

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:01 AM

I've been reading through my Adventure Book and Rule Book before running the beginner game with my friends.  In reading about Despair and Triumph, the rules state that Triumph and Despair do NOT cancel each other out.  Therefore, on any given roll, one can have both Despair and Triumph.  Generally when I've played games with narrative successes and complications, I've tried to make the narrative bonuses and complications apply directly to the roll the character was making.  For example, if they failed a sneak roll as well as rolled a complication, they would not only catch the attention of a local patrol, but may also have set off a base-wide alarm.  However, I've never had a success equivalent to a Triumph at the same time as a complication equivalent to a Despair. 

In my GMing, am I going to have to add in new extrinsic factors?  Are there ways to have Triumphs and Despair intrinsic to the skill being rolled?  Can anyone provide some examples of both Triumph and Despair within the same roll?

Thanks for your time.



#2 Demonic Devill

Demonic Devill

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:06 AM

One idea that springs to mind over having both Dispair and Triumph

The player wants to intindate someone to prevent a fight by giving them a warning shot so he has to make a Hard Coerce check of which is their best or most prefered way of persuading but the reciever has 1 rank in Discipline.

The player manages to roll 2 Triumph a Dispair, 3 Fails and 3 Sucess' from the pool of 2 Proficiency Dice (Yellow) the Challenge Die (Red), 2 Difficulty Die (Purple) and 2 Ability Dice (Green) now over all thats a Sucessful check of 1 Sucess. 

They chooses with their 2 Triumphs to damage the recievers weapon, which is good but because of the Dispair you as the GM could say 'Ok that was good but you run out of ammo with that weapon and wont be able to use it in the next fight/encounter.'

With the simultainous Triumph and Dispair I plan to even out the players actions if it happens

I hope this help you in some way



#3 DylanRPG

DylanRPG

    Member

  • Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:29 AM

Demonic offers a very good idea here--he allows the Triumph and Despair to cancel each other out narratively, after they have taken effect, while adhereing to the rules where they don't cancel each other out mechanically.

This seems to be a good solution.

 


Complete PDF Talent Trees:https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 

Form Fillable Official Character Sheet: https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 


#4 CatmanSGA

CatmanSGA

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:36 AM

I'm pretty sure that it says somewhere in the rulebook that only the success/failure portion of Triumph & Despairs cancel each other out. (And the success/failure portion of Triumph/Despair are also cancelled out by normal success/failure symbols.) But regardless of whether their success/failure of a Triumph/Despair is cancelled out, they can still be spent on special abilities an other factors. (Can still fail and have a positive effect, or succeed with a negative one.)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS