Jump to content



Photo

Detained Vs. Trust Your Feelings


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 divinityofnumber

divinityofnumber

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:28 PM

    

 

Page 31 of the rules book shows that, after a strike is resolved by the player who won the edge battle (the first strike of a given engagement), there is a player action window. Page 25, which describes "Reactions", states that they resolve "after a specified triggering condition occurs." The active player has the ability to resolve the first Reaction after a triggering ability occurs. 

So, am I right in thinking that, even though there is an action window after a strike resolves, in which the ability on Trust Your Feelings can be resolved, the ability of Detained would be resolved BEFORE this post-strike action window? So, even if a character is enhanced with Trust Your Feelings, this cannot protect them from being captured immediately after striking?


Star Wars LCG: FFG EC Regional 2014 - Top 4; Star Wars LCG: FFG Event Center Store Championship 2014 - Top 4; FFG Event Center Season One 2014 - Minneapolis Regional Game Night - Top 4; May the 4th Be With You 2013 - Second Chance Tournament Champion; A Game of Thrones LCG: Days of Ice and Fire 2013 - Joust Top 16

abUse the Force author on CardGameDB.com


#2 Rozgutt

Rozgutt

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 10:05 PM

I would feel inclined to say that the reactions would take place before the action window you mentioned because they are triggered by something and do not require an action window - they can be therefore played before any other action can take place.



#3 StarDuster

StarDuster

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:41 AM

As Rozgutt implied, Detained would take place before the action window that allows you to focus Trust Your Feelings.

However, even if it didn't, lets take a look at the verbage of the two cards mentioned. Dentained doesn't care if the unit is currently focused or not currently, it only looks to see if the unit "resolved a strike". Even if the focus token was removed from the unit with some (theoretical) responce card played by your opponent after you played Detained, that unit still "resolved a strke" -- currently focused or not -- and will be captured by Detained.



#4 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:59 PM

even if you could use Trust Your Feelings first (which I don't believe you can), detained specifically targets someone that just resolved a strike (not an exhausted/focused unit), so Luke (or whoever) would still be captured.


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS