Jump to content



Photo

Retreats and withdrawls!


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 American63

American63

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 04:36 AM

Hi guys, as stated in an earlier post, very new to this game. Excuse my ignorance, but can anyone tell me why at the beginning of a space battle you need to declare at this very early stage whether you are going to withdraw or retreat. cant quite see the logic behind it, but Im sure it's staring me int he face!

Thanks in anticipation fellas.



#2 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 08:24 AM

If your opponent could declare a retreat at the end of the battle, you would never get a chance to destroy your opponent's big ships.  The defeated player would always retreat his remaining ships to safety.  

Example:  Both fleets are evenly matched.  One player plays no action cards.  The other player plays 5 action cards.  At the end of the combat round, the defeated player has 2 damaged Dreads and 1 Carrier left.  Of course he will retreat them.

But because you have to declare a retreat at the beginning of a combat round not at the end of the round, those ships will most likely be destroyed before they can retreat.

This is what the  "Skilled Retreat" action card does.  It allows the damaged fleet to escape at the begining of the round.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 551 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 10:12 AM

Thematic explanation: Fleet Commander A sees that his fleet stands about as much chance to survive as a paper cat being chased through hell by an asbestos dog and thus orders a retreat. Big ships are heavy and takes a long time to turn around. Also, it takes a lot if calculations to plog an escape course. During that time is the other Fleet Commander is sure as heck not gonna stop shooting. Enter the next combat round where said manouvres and calculations take place all the while the firing continues.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 American63

American63

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:21 AM

Thanks, so does that mean you can only retreat with the appropriate action card, or can you retreat without it.

Thanks.



#5 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:13 AM

There is a difference on whether you are the attacker or defender. 

But generally, both players can retreat but it must be declared at the begining of the combat round  and 1 round of fighting MUST occur is the essential rule to remember.

The action card "Skilled Retreat" essentially allows you to skip the fighting part.   That is why this is such a valuable Action card.

 

This does get to be an involved subject if you want to know all the nuances of it.

For example….

1.  Only Defending players can Retreat.  Attacking players must do a Tactical Withdrawel, if I remember right.

If you look in the rules, you will see there is a slight difference between the two options.

But generally, most players just  say they are retreating.   Even thought that is not officially correct.

 

 

 

 



#6 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:58 AM

Something I wrote up a while ago to help some new players with resolving a space battle. Might help explain how withdraw/retreat works.

 

  1. Announce Withdrawal / Retreat (to an adjacent system with no enemy ships)

    1. Attacker can announce intent to withdraw – to adjacent system already activated by the attacker

    2. If attacker declined to withdraw, defender can announce intent to retreat

      • Normal Retreat – Will retreat to an adjacent system already activated by the defender

      • Tactical Retreat – Use a Command Counter from Strategy Allocation to activate an adjacent system defender controls or is empty; defender will retreat to this system (SE Page 11)

  2. Roll Combat Dice

    1. Both roll combat dice, Hits >= unit's Battle value as per Units sheet

    2. Both announce number of Hits scored

  3. Remove Casualties

    1. Attacker removes casualties to Reinforcements, apply damage to Dreadnoughts/War Suns

    2. Defender removes casualties to Reinforcements, apply damage to Dreadnoughts/War Suns

  4. Execute Withdrawal / Retreat

    1. Cancelled if there are no enemy units left in the system

    2. Move entire fleet as per announced withdrawal / retreat – if the player has no such system, then their fleet cannot withdraw or retreat

    3. Check for Fleet Supply (TI Page 21) and Fighter Capacity (TI Page 29) in this system

  5. If there are still both attacking and defending ships in the system, fight another round of Space Battle steps 1 thru 5 

 



#7 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:18 PM

Something I should have mentioned in my previous post … the Tactical Retreat option is from the Shattered Empire expansion. If you're not playing with that expansion / option, disregard the defender's Tactical Retreat option.



#8 Karl_stalker

Karl_stalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:36 PM

Shadow said:

There is a difference on whether you are the attacker or defender… 

But generally, most players just  say they are retreating.   Even thought that is not officially correct.

 

 

 

 

When we play (not us if this is "allowed" or not) we give the defender the option to declare a retreat. If the attacker is cool with it he/she will just let them leave, but if the attacker so desires a round of combat is initiated first. Think of it as waving a white flag as you see the enemy coming. 



#9 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 03:24 AM

Another important thing to remember…

If you are playing with leaders, an Admiral can prevents retreats.

 

So, you say "I am retreating my fleet", the other player says, my Admiral says, "you are staying! "… so watch out for the fleets that has an Admiral in it….

 

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS