Jump to content



Photo

Using New Caprica and Cylon Fleet Board (CAG)


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dwightsboardgame

dwightsboardgame

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 04:30 AM

When playing with both New Caprica and the Cylon Fleet Board, after Galactica returns, if a human uses the shipyard action to evacuate a prepared civilian ship, is it placed following Pegasus rules (page 20), or following the CAG card rules?

Pegasus:
From that point on, any time a civilian ship is evacuated, the current player moves the top ship on the Prepared Civilian Ships stack to a space area with a viper launch icon.
 

CAG:
When a civilian ship needs to be placed on the main game board, you must choose the space area. You must choose an area that does not already contain civilian ships (if able).



#2 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:27 AM

Ouch.  You are hurting my brain.

I think the key would be "move" over "placed."   

"Placed" is normally from supply.  "Move" is a movement of a peice.

Since it says Move, I would say it's the same as Communication (allowed the movement of civilians ships), and it would be the activators choice. 



#3 dwightsboardgame

dwightsboardgame

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 02:44 PM

Mephisto666 said:

Ouch.  You are hurting my brain.

I think the key would be "move" over "placed."   

"Placed" is normally from supply.  "Move" is a movement of a peice.

Since it says Move, I would say it's the same as Communication (allowed the movement of civilians ships), and it would be the activators choice. 

LOL!

It was a serious question. :P

I didn't really look into the wording of the two statements that deeply. I so rarely play with New Caprica since Exodus came out. After my group played an Ionian Nebula game we decided to play BSG again but this time to use New Caprica, we just went with the card superceding the book because typicaly when a card conflicts with the rule book, the card takes precedence, and that Exodus was newer.

As we played, I didn't quite like how it played with them going in scattered spots, so if I did it again, I think I would try it your way. Your interpretation seems reasonable, but one could also argue that even though it is being "moved" from the New Caprica game board, it is still "being placed on the main game board"… Sorry, I'll stop.. :D



#4 The Thing In The Attic

The Thing In The Attic

    Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:42 AM

Hi i can answer this one as i have the rule books right here in front of me.

Answer: Pegasus rules takes precedence in this and regardless of whether the current player or the CAG is instructed to place civillian ships 

Explanation:

Exodus rule book p22 : Note that during the New Caprica phase, civilian ships are utilized as described on pages 13–17 of the Pegasus rulebook. Civilian ships do not remain in space areas during New Caprica setup. However, after Galactica has returned to orbit, vipers may be activated to escort civilian ships in space areas as described on page 15 of this rulebook.

Exodus rule book P14: Whenever a game effect instructs the CAG to place a civilian ship on the main game board, the CAG chooses which space area to place the ship in. The CAG must, if able,* place the civilian ship in a space area that does not already have a civilian ship in it.             

* Note the Cag is 'Not Able' to do this because the rules in pegasus stipulate how the ships are placed    

Pegasus rulebook p15: During the Prepare for Jump step of every subsequent New Caprica Crisis Card, when an evacuation icon appears, the current player takes one civilian ship from the top of the Prepared Civilian Ships stack and moves it to any space area with a viper launch icon.

the FAQ also resolves the issue: as a specific area is indicated by the Pegasus rule book.  

Q: When a game effect instructs a player to place a civilian ship in a specific space area, such as behind Galactica, does the CAG choose a space area instead?

 A: No, the CAG only chooses where to place civilian ships only in cases where no specific space area is indicated.

 

 

 



#5 dwightsboardgame

dwightsboardgame

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:36 PM

Thank you very much.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS