Jump to content



Photo

What to do when you encounter Smaug on the road?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 joec

joec

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 02:43 AM

Here's a question I haven't seen asked here, and I can't find the answer in the rules…

 

When travelling on the fourth leg of the journey, we encountered this situation:

 

So…  What happens when Bilbo lands on the Smaug-filled space?  The rules don't state anything on it.  The only thing I found was on BoardGameGeek from someone who translated a French set of rules that stated the battle then takes place, skipping any further character advancement.  If that's the case, why isn't it stated anywhere else? 

Is that how it's supposed to be played?  Help!



#2 joec

joec

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:16 AM

Is there anyone who can answer this question?  Does the battle go to the final space?  Do we just pass Smaug by?  Do we count the space he's on?  Do we move him aside and allow the Dwarves to get the assets underneath him?



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,257 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 11:01 PM

I'd play as per the rules (English) I have, encountering Smaug does nothing, you wave to him as he flies by and continue drawing Event cards until you reach the Lonely Mountain space.

If you want an official answer, click the "Rules Questions" link at the bottom of the page (bit tough to see grey text on dark grey background, but it's there) and submit it to FFG.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 joec

joec

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:03 AM

Thanks for the input and the link!  I've messaged them!  Thanks!



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,257 posts

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:52 PM

Any reply from them yet?


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 TheMetal1

TheMetal1

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 11:08 AM

Board Game Geek had someone say the Finnish version of the rules was like the French you start the adventure cards immediately. One comment which was meant to be tongue in check was - nothing happens as the Smaug can't see Bilbo because he's invisible. It does make sense even thematically with the book as Bilbo and the dwarves carried on after Smaug went to Laketown. They got have access and control of the Gold which is the endgame for this. Though in the books Smaugs death was the start of the Battle of 5 armies. I wonder if that somehow could be a Hobbit expansion?




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS