Jump to content



Photo

Definition of "action"


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ToneMastaG

ToneMastaG

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 05:19 PM

So my wife and I just played a game where I had an AutoScript Pilot Program in a remote server protected by a Tollbooth and two Matrix Analyzer's.  I had advanced the agenda once, she broke my Tollbooth, I then paid one credit per Matrix Analyzer and placed two more advancement tokens on ASPP.  Here is my question.  The rulebook, on page 14, says you can only score an agenda 1) before the beginning of your turn, or 2) after you have taken an action.  The book does not say "after you have used a click" would I be able to score ASPP?  Or does the effect on MA not count as an action.  Does the trace effect count as an action?  Or are the terms "click" and "action" mutually exchangable?  



#2 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 07:47 PM

As far as I understood that, action is what you as a player decide to do and clicks are a measure of time for actions. So some actions take just one click (make one cred) and thus are finished after one. Others take two or more clicks (purging virus counters), they are only completed after a time span of 2 or three clicks.

 

Click and action are different aspects of one game concept but technically far from identical.

 

As you can only score an agenda on the corp turn (as you stated, before the first and after each following action) you might find yourself having less than the 4 usual opportunities to score an agenda because you have to wait untilo an ACTION is completely resolved and that might take more than one click. No interruption in a multi-click action is possible.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#3 Butaman551

Butaman551

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:55 PM

ToneMastaG said:

So my wife and I just played a game where I had an AutoScript Pilot Program in a remote server protected by a Tollbooth and two Matrix Analyzer's.  I had advanced the agenda once, she broke my Tollbooth, I then paid one credit per Matrix Analyzer and placed two more advancement tokens on ASPP.  Here is my question.  The rulebook, on page 14, says you can only score an agenda 1) before the beginning of your turn, or 2) after you have taken an action.  The book does not say "after you have used a click" would I be able to score ASPP?  Or does the effect on MA not count as an action.  Does the trace effect count as an action?  Or are the terms "click" and "action" mutually exchangable?  

Everything listed on the Corp Actions card are actions. Other things (such as using paid abilities) are not actions. The click symbol is a cost that you have to pay to use an action and some other abilities. 



#4 ToneMastaG

ToneMastaG

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 02:50 AM

ok so basically, there is no situation in which you can score an agenda on the runners turn, unless a card specifically says so.



#5 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,411 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:36 AM

Using a paid ability with a click cost (Melange Mining Corp, Private Security Force) IS an action, though.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS