Jump to content



Photo

Dual Wielding?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 DylanRPG

DylanRPG

    Member

  • Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:08 PM

Are there rules for this in the Beginner Game? I haven't seen any anwhere … Seems like something that should be covered, because at some point a player might just decide to put a pistol in both hands and roll the dice.

I know there were a few iterations of the rules about this in the Beta, what ended up being the final version?

And what is allowed? If I (theoretically) was able to use a lightsaber, could I go Luke Skywalker style and use a lightsaber in one hand and a pistol in the other?


Complete PDF Talent Trees:https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 

Form Fillable Official Character Sheet: https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 


#2 WittyDroog

WittyDroog

    Member

  • Members
  • 211 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:17 PM

Wait when did Luke use both a lightsaber and blaster in his hands at the same time? I remember him holding one or the other.

 

As far as the rule it doesn't look like either the adventure Book or Rulebook address dual-weilding two of the same type of weapon, but having a saber in one hand and a blaster in the other wouldn't complicate matters any as you would use either one or the other to fight at any given time and this game doesn't care about the nitty gritty of using weapons with your off-hand like other games do.



#3 DylanRPG

DylanRPG

    Member

  • Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:27 PM

I think you're right, Luke didn't do that. Wish he did, though. :)

I'm actually talking about attacking with two weapons at the same time though.

Incidentally, I was able to find the answer on the Beta forum in the latest Update.

For anyone who is interested, the basics of it are:

1. You have to have a one-handed weapon in hand. You obviously can't wield a rifle in one hand and a vibro-axe in the other.

2. Choose one weapon as your primary weapon.

3. When you're assembling the dice pool, you look at the skills of each weapon, and you use which ever one is lower for your positive dice. Then, you look at the difficulty of each attack, and you use whichever one is higher.

4. Then you add 1 difficulty die if both weapons are using the same skill, or 2 difficulty dice if they are using different skills.

5  The primary weapon deals the damage. If, however, you have 2 Advantage or 1 Triumph, your secondary weapon also deals damage. You follow normal rules for determining damage with each weapon.

So basically if you attack with two weapons at once, it's a lot harder to hit things, but there's a chance you can deal a lot more damage. I believe you can also have two different targets for your weapons.

If I didn't understand that right, please someone correct me. I forsee having to use these rules in my game.

Of course, I guess in the Beginner game it's safest to make a ruling you can't attack with two weapons at once, and then it's simpler and won't matter, like you said.

In my opinion, the Beta rules for this seem overly complicated. I would just give the player a Setback die if they want to try to attack with both weapons, then let them activate the second weapon on an Advantage for half of that weapon's damage or something.


Complete PDF Talent Trees:https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 

Form Fillable Official Character Sheet: https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 


#4 WittyDroog

WittyDroog

    Member

  • Members
  • 211 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:36 PM

Yeah I don't know, it sounds like they tried to include the ideas behind PC's assisting each other, but gave a bump to difficulty in order to make it not a "no-brainer" choice. So far it hasn't been a problem I can forsee in my group as people seem to attach affinity to a specific weapon, not a pair, so I don't know how to really address it.

 

The FFG ruling makes sense, it's just not as fluid as other rules.



#5 Tassedar

Tassedar

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 03:31 PM

Dual wield works like this

 

add 1 extra difficulty to the attack must use the weapon with the lowest skill in if successfull add both weapons into damage



#6 DylanRPG

DylanRPG

    Member

  • Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 03:51 PM

Haha, well when you put it that way it sounds much better.


Complete PDF Talent Trees:https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 

Form Fillable Official Character Sheet: https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

 


#7 WittyDroog

WittyDroog

    Member

  • Members
  • 211 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 04:14 PM

So why does the Beta Errata say you need to activate the second weapon by rolling 2 Advantages or a Triumph?

 

Was that simple ruling pulled from the Beginner Box's rules somewhere? I don't remember seeing it.



#8 Tassedar

Tassedar

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 11:46 PM

Seems strange that you needed the extra advantages I'll read the errata again but I believe I'm right

#9 Tassedar

Tassedar

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 11:52 PM

Yep I missed it you must have 2advantage or a triumph in addition to your success to hit with a second weapon but nuts use the lesser of weapon skill to make a hit with the primary weapon.

#10 aljovin

aljovin

    Member

  • Members
  • 171 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 06:24 AM

So:

 

- Use the lowest skill

- Add 1 difficulty dice

- Damage = Highest damage score weapon, if you have 2 advantages, also include the lowest damage score weapon.

 

Is that the official BETA rule? I haven't seen anything in the Beginner Game set.



#11 Tassedar

Tassedar

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:04 AM

Damage is based on primary weapon you announce which should be the most powerful. The rules for dual wielding are in week 11 errata just below the weapon tables.

#12 aramis

aramis

    Member

  • Members
  • 959 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:52 PM

aljovin said:

So:

 

- Use the lowest skill

- Add 1 difficulty dice

- Damage = Highest damage score weapon, if you have 2 advantages, also include the lowest damage score weapon.

 

Is that the official BETA rule? I haven't seen anything in the Beginner Game set.

That's how I read it.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS