Jump to content



Photo

Stupid question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 JinFaram

JinFaram

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:11 AM

I know I am probably missing it but can you activate an weapon quality on a failed check?  



#2 Tassedar

Tassedar

    Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:11 PM

No it must be a success to work unless you fail so hard then your weapon may break

#3 Nimon

Nimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 06:37 PM

 

 

                   One thing about this system is that it really encourages creativity. In some instances if you failed a check yet got a net advantage I might see a weapon quality being activated. As with all RPGs, whats in the book is a guideline and should not be a limited list of options.



#4 awayputurwpn

awayputurwpn

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,413 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:15 PM

RAW, a net Success is required to deal weapon damage. Unless a weapon quality specifies a "successful check," however, it looks like all you need to activate a quality is the requisite Advantage. Knockdown, Ensnare, Sunder, Concussive, Guided, and Stun all appear to not require a "Success" to activate. Linked, Blast, and Burn all specifically require a Successful check to activate.

This all seems pretty reasonable to me, given the rules regarding Success and Advantage with other non-combat skills.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS