So I'm idily flipping through the rule book (occasionally it's nice to have the physical instead of the digital) just making sure I haven't missed anything before Game Day tomorrow when something jumped out at me.
On page 15 it describes the winning conditions, both sides have the victory condition of "The [Opposing] player must draw a card from his command deck or objective deck, but that deck is empty" (emphasis added)
Lets look at that for a second. The initial extra objective is placed back under the Objective Deck, so there's still 7 cards in there. There is no stipulation for a Objective Discard pile. Discarding (page 13) is described as going to the Command Deck Discard Pile, Token pool, or Availble Force Cards pile.
If 3 DS Objectives are in the LS victory pile the game ends, so there should never be less than 5 cards in the DS Objective Deck. As the DS I can destroy no more than 6 Objectives without winning (that includes the worst case scenario of the dial reducing cards) so there's still at least 1 card remaining*.
The other tricky bit to this is found on Page 23 under "Destroyed Objectives", I'll quote the second paragraph:
Immediately after an LS objective card is placed in the DS victory pile, the DS player advances the Death Star dial one points for each LS objective card in his victory pile" (empahsis adjusted)
The wording for the other side is very similar, specifing "DS cards" in the victoy pile and not just "cards". While the definition of "Victory pile" on page 13 read "a player's collection of destroyed enemy objective cards"
Anyway, this was a lot of words to say that your Objective deck should never run out and the rules aren't in place for it ever too run out. But whay are they called Objectives in the first place. They are your Objectives, but the only one who seems to go after them is your opponent.
So is this a needless rule? Are we going to have an addendum/eratta that adds a Objective Discard Pile? Or are we going to have the ability to place our objectives in our own Victory pile?
* 1 implies that the sixth objective destroyed was "A Journey to Degobah", and while technically the intterupt happens to replace it before it is added to the DS Victory Pile and the Dial is advanced 6 points leaving only one card you'll realistically never have less than 2 cards in your Objective Deck.