Jump to content



Photo

(rule) edge battle


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Rogue 3

Rogue 3

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 07:12 PM

Ok the rule books states that if edge battle ends in a tie the defending player strikes first and is considered the winner.

 

ok now if there is NO edge battle does the defender strike first?

does anyone get to use edge-enabled icons?

if edge battle is cancelled and not start again (twist of fate) is there an edge winner?

 

 

 



#2 D.Knight Sevus

D.Knight Sevus

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 07:33 PM

From my understanding:

In the case that the edge battle is a draw, the edge goes to the defender. If neither player plays any edge cards, then their force totals for the edge battle are both zero, and thus there is a tie and the edge would go to the defender.

Similarly, if Twist of Fate is used to restart the edge battle, and neither player chooses to commit any edge cards to the second edge battle, again both force totals are zero and the edge goes to the defender.

In the case that the edge goes to the defender by default, the defender gets to use any edge-dependant icons, though blast damage remains useless.



#3 Rogue 3

Rogue 3

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 08:50 PM

can i start an edge battle when there are no defenders?

can i force an edge battle when i dont defend?



#4 Fbaranow

Fbaranow

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:04 PM

If tere are no defending units the Attacker wins the edge battle but may still choose to play fate cards. The defender can do nothing. 



#5 gunslinger

gunslinger

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:23 PM

Is that strictly true ?  If there are no defenders, does the attacker still have to play at least one edge card with a minimum of 1 force icon in order to gain the edge ?  Otherwise, its a tie and the edge goes to the defender (in which case neither side gains any edge benefit).



#6 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,292 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:34 PM

gunslinger said:

Is that strictly true ?  If there are no defenders, does the attacker still have to play at least one edge card with a minimum of 1 force icon in order to gain the edge ?  Otherwise, its a tie and the edge goes to the defender (in which case neither side gains any edge benefit).

Check pg 18, the last paragraph:

"A player must control at least one participating unit
to place cards in the edge battle. If the defending
player controls no defending units, the attacking player
automatically wins the edge battle (although he still has
the option to place cards into the edge battle if
he so desires)."



#7 gunslinger

gunslinger

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:36 PM

Ok - thanks for the clarification.  That does make sense.



#8 Magni

Magni

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 04:36 AM

Here is a Question, about edge battles - Double Strike, states as soon as a target exausts to strike remove one focus.  now that he is focus free does he strike again? as all units in a edge battle must exaust striking if possible?

Magni


+++ Engagement: Resolve Strikes +++

magni strikes with greedo for 2 unit damage to Han Solo and 1 Blast Damage.


#9 Hurdoc

Hurdoc

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 04:56 AM

Magni said:

 

Here is a Question, about edge battles - Double Strike, states as soon as a target exausts to strike remove one focus.  now that he is focus free does he strike again? as all units in a edge battle must exaust striking if possible?

Magni

 

 

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question, but Double Strike has nothing to do with edge battles (unless you play it face down for the force icons). In the actual combat, yes, after you strike, you play Double Strike, remove a focus token, and if the unit no longer has tokens on it, it MUST strike again. Striking is not optional for units in combat, they must if they have no focus icons on them.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS