Jump to content



Photo

Silly question regarding terror effects


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 anonymous

anonymous

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 09:35 AM

If an adventure has a "Terror: Lose 1 Sanity", and I fail to complete a task and I rolled 2 terror symbols, do I lose 2 sanity or 1 sanity? 

I only ask because of another terror effect "Terror: Discard all terror dice" so I would assume that in order to lose 1 sanity per terror it should read "Terror: Lose 1 Sanity per terror dice". or something like that. I have been playing that I lose 1 per terror, but now I'm starting to think I was playing wrong.



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:28 AM

There are no silly questions, only silly answers. Like this one. Wish I could help but I simply don't know. I suppose you've already tried the FAQ?

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 anonymous

anonymous

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:26 AM

Yes. Btw, In ES: Omens it only counts one terror symbol. Doesn't mean anything to the physical game, of course.



#4 xfoley8

xfoley8

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 12:40 PM

anonymous said:

Yes. Btw, In ES: Omens it only counts one terror symbol. Doesn't mean anything to the physical game, of course.

 

I don't agree.  I think a 'lose 1 sanity' terror result is just that, regardless of how many terror results you rolled (on a single roll).  Of course, if you attempt the roll again, fail, and get more terror, then you would take 1 additional sanity (and would take 1 more for another failure w/terror, etc.).

 



#5 anonymous

anonymous

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:37 PM

That would make sense… I once had a terror: add a doom token and rolled 4 terrors and couldn't complete a task… didn't know I should only have added 1… still won that game though 



#6 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:25 AM

The terror effect only happens once regardless of the amount of terror dice rolled.



#7 anonymous

anonymous

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 03:18 AM

wish we had a concrete evidence though… Omens is hardly evidence as a lot of the rules there are different



#8 Eyefink

Eyefink

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 06:59 AM

Terror effects happen if "the player fails to complete a task and at least one of the rolled dice shows a terror result." The effect is the effect, regardless of how many dice show terror. Except, of course, for the ones where you discard all terror dice. It doesn't happen more than once unless you fail the next roll and get a terror again. Hope that helps. complice

 

Aslo you very correct, Omens should not be used as a rules ruler against which the physical game should be measured as many things happen differently in it.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS