Jump to content



Photo

Snare in hand


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 signoftheserpent

signoftheserpent

    Member

  • Members
  • 836 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:53 PM

If the runner accesses Snare from HQ and doesn't trash it, does it go back to the hand after triggering the effects?



#2 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:01 PM

signoftheserpent said:

If the runner accesses Snare from HQ and doesn't trash it, does it go back to the hand after triggering the effects?

That, or the game comes to a halt as you ask yourself why you are playing with an idiot.



#3 Sportacus

Sportacus

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:02 PM

signoftheserpent said:

 

If the runner accesses Snare from HQ and doesn't trash it, does it go back to the hand after triggering the effects?

 

 

Yes

But WHY the runner should opt to not trash Snare??? It costs ZERO to trash it….



#4 Volkazz

Volkazz

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:39 AM

Old NR included Data Sifters (IIRC) - an operation that tagged the runner if he trashed a node asset

AFAIK it has not yet been replicated, but…

 

There are certainly resons to leave it in R&D.

 

V.

 

 



#5 Sportacus

Sportacus

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 02:02 AM

Volkazz said:

Old NR included Data Sifters (IIRC) - an operation that tagged the runner if he trashed a node asset

AFAIK it has not yet been replicated, but…

 

There are certainly resons to leave it in R&D.

 

V.

 

 

 

In the future maybe.

But now? With the currently released set of cards?



#6 Volkazz

Volkazz

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:25 AM

Sportacus said:

Volkazz said:

 

Old NR included Data Sifters (IIRC) - an operation that tagged the runner if he trashed a node asset

AFAIK it has not yet been replicated, but…

 

There are certainly resons to leave it in R&D.

 

V.

In the future maybe.

But now? With the currently released set of cards?

 

HQ - I cannot think of an advantage to leaving it in HQ at the moment - actually, I can, but it is circumstantial/depends on psychology.

Corp has five cards in hand, draws an agenda - you have left him options involving traps - he may prefer to trash the agenda to trashing the trap; perhaps he has a server that s breakable but expensive so with the option of a trap he will install that.  IF you can read/predict your opponent it may be a viable option to leave the trap.

R&D - it clogs the Corp's draw - it is not ICE/money/agenda - any of which the corp could be looking for in different circumstances.

 

V.

 

 



#7 Sportacus

Sportacus

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:57 AM

Volkazz said:

Sportacus said:

 

Volkazz said:

 

Old NR included Data Sifters (IIRC) - an operation that tagged the runner if he trashed a node asset

AFAIK it has not yet been replicated, but…

 

There are certainly resons to leave it in R&D.

 

V.

In the future maybe.

But now? With the currently released set of cards?

 

 

 

HQ - I cannot think of an advantage to leaving it in HQ at the moment - actually, I can, but it is circumstantial/depends on psychology.

Corp has five cards in hand, draws an agenda - you have left him options involving traps - he may prefer to trash the agenda to trashing the trap; perhaps he has a server that s breakable but expensive so with the option of a trap he will install that.  IF you can read/predict your opponent it may be a viable option to leave the trap.

R&D - it clogs the Corp's draw - it is not ICE/money/agenda - any of which the corp could be looking for in different circumstances.

 

V.

 

 

 

Uhmmm….

If you leave Snare on top of R&D, next turn you'll find it in HQ. And about HQ you said "I cannot think of an advantage to leaving it in HQ at the moment - actually, I can, but it is circumstantial/depends on psychology".

Do not trash Snare is - by now - too circumstantial to risk again a face_to_face with it….

IMHO.



#8 Volkazz

Volkazz

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 01:30 AM

You assume there is a reason to run HQ if corp is digging.

If corp is digging - so the snare forms a block thereto - then the agenda is probably not in HQ

 

V.

 

 



#9 Rottencat

Rottencat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 11:23 AM

The only time I would think about eating the snare and not trashing it is when

1. The corp is low on credits,

2. Has alot of un rezed ice.

3. I have a full hand of usless cards. (doubles of installed cards)

4. I can also run his Hand cheaply.

With all this going on, I would make him spend 4 credits this turn, run his hand next turn (after refilling mine) get lucky and pull snare! costing him 4 more credits,  then run the large agend holding server and snag an agenda….

 

So all this will almost never ever happen in a match….

Like this will NEVER HAPPEN.

But if it does we will be ready…lol

 

Rottencat

 

Hey did I say this will never happen in a match?



#10 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,430 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:39 AM

The corp may choose not to pay for Snare! (since the ability is optional), so 2 can play this game.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS