Jump to content



Photo

Action rule questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 executor

executor

    Member

  • Members
  • 482 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 03:55 PM

hi there, i searched through the forums and couldn't find anything relating to my topic but here goes

 

so i just picked up this game the other day and i have 2 questions

 

first: when must the actions be taken? as in; does each ship take its action directly after its own movement? or do you take your actions after all ships have moved?

 

second: when using an upgrade card. are they one time uses per game?

 

thank you


Current Fleet

Rebellion: 5 X-wings, 4 Y-wings, 5 A-wings, 3 B-wings, 1 HWK-290, 2 YT-1300's, 2 E-wings, 1 Z-95, 1 Rebel Transport, 1 CR-90

Empire: 8 Tie Fighters, 2 Tie Advanced, 9 Tie Interceptors, 3 Tie Bombers, 1 Lambda Shuttle, 3 Firespray 31's, 2 Tie Phantoms, 2 Tie Defenders


#2 Eruletho

Eruletho

    Member

  • Members
  • 594 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 04:41 PM

1st: each ship takes it''s action at the end of it's own movement

2nd: each upgrade card can be used an infinite number of times unless stated on the card. Currently, the only upgrade cards that are limited are all missiles, all bombs, all torpedos, and the crewmember Chewbacca, all stating that you discard the card after you use it.



#3 executor

executor

    Member

  • Members
  • 482 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:45 PM

thanks a bundle 

but now i ran into another issue

when at range 1 does the cluster missles give you a bonus die to each attack or is it still limited to 3 per attack?


Current Fleet

Rebellion: 5 X-wings, 4 Y-wings, 5 A-wings, 3 B-wings, 1 HWK-290, 2 YT-1300's, 2 E-wings, 1 Z-95, 1 Rebel Transport, 1 CR-90

Empire: 8 Tie Fighters, 2 Tie Advanced, 9 Tie Interceptors, 3 Tie Bombers, 1 Lambda Shuttle, 3 Firespray 31's, 2 Tie Phantoms, 2 Tie Defenders


#4 godofcheese

godofcheese

    Member

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 09:44 PM

executor said:

thanks a bundle 

but now i ran into another issue

when at range 1 does the cluster missles give you a bonus die to each attack or is it still limited to 3 per attack?

 

There is no limit to the number of dice you can roll on an attack (with various bonuses), however the rule for a bonus dice at Range 1 and Range 3 (defence) applies only to Primary Weapons. The cluster missiles are Secondary Weapons and, therefore, confer no range bonus/penalty.



#5 executor

executor

    Member

  • Members
  • 482 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:30 AM

great, thanks a tonne guys


Current Fleet

Rebellion: 5 X-wings, 4 Y-wings, 5 A-wings, 3 B-wings, 1 HWK-290, 2 YT-1300's, 2 E-wings, 1 Z-95, 1 Rebel Transport, 1 CR-90

Empire: 8 Tie Fighters, 2 Tie Advanced, 9 Tie Interceptors, 3 Tie Bombers, 1 Lambda Shuttle, 3 Firespray 31's, 2 Tie Phantoms, 2 Tie Defenders


#6 DailyRich

DailyRich

    Member

  • Members
  • 355 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:11 AM

It's kind of a nitpicky point, but actions are declared at the end of your movement.  Some do occur then as well, like barrel roll, but others, like focus and evade, don't come into play until you're in combat.



#7 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,360 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:24 AM

DailyRich said:

It's kind of a nitpicky point, but actions are declared at the end of your movement.  Some do occur then as well, like barrel roll, but others, like focus and evade, don't come into play until you're in combat.

Slightly incorrect. Those actions have their full effect at the end of your movement: giving the ship the appropriate token. Spending the token occurs during combat, but is not itself an action.

#8 godofcheese

godofcheese

    Member

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:12 PM

dbmeboy said:

DailyRich said:

Slightly incorrect. Those actions have their full effect at the end of your movement: giving the ship the appropriate token. Spending the token occurs during combat, but is not itself an action.

 

Correct, otherwise you couldn't spend multiple tokens in a turn (target lock, focus; focus, evade; focus, focus; etc)



#9 Sprolly G

Sprolly G

    Member

  • Members
  • 199 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 10:52 AM

dbmeboy said:

DailyRich said:

It's kind of a nitpicky point, but actions are declared at the end of your movement.  Some do occur then as well, like barrel roll, but others, like focus and evade, don't come into play until you're in combat.

Slightly incorrect. Those actions have their full effect at the end of your movement: giving the ship the appropriate token. Spending the token occurs during combat, but is not itself an action.

Say we're at the beginning of a game and we're about to start the first combat phase:

 

-X-Wing Rookie (PS - 2) w/ Torpedo

Vs.

-Tie Advanced Vader (PS - 9)

     -(Or any other pilot and ship higher or equal to Pilot Skill 2 who moves second)

 

Scenario:

(A) The Rookie (2) moves first, but is not yet in range 2 or 3 of Vader and wants to Target Lock. Vader (9) then moves and comes into range 2 or 3.

AND/OR

(B) Both players have a Rookie or the same Pilot Skill Vs. each other (for example: 'Rookie' X-Wing Vs. 'Rookie' X-Wing or Vs. 'Tempest Squadron' Tie Advanced). The one who moves first in that scenario can also target lock? Or is it only the one who moves second into range 2 or 3 that can Target Lock, forcing the Rookie or first to move into using a focus token or evade?

Question:

Is there any way for a Target Lock  to occur for the Rookie to launch the Torpedo on the first combat phase?

 

Fact:

All the games i've played against other people seem to play out with the menuever of all ships, then the placement of the tokens and actions. I'm getting the feeling that is incorrect play.



#10 Buhallin

Buhallin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,661 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 11:17 AM

You take an action after completing your maneuver.  When you take an action, all conditions must be met at that moment; you can't hold or defer the action in any way, or take it based on what might happen later in the turn.  In both your scenarios, the ship that moves first is not in range to acquire a target lock when they take their action, so they cannot do so.  The second ship to move IS in range when they take their action, so could lock.

Ships with the same pilot skill still activate in a fixed order, so even your two Rookie example would play out the same, with the player who has initiative moving his Rookir first, and being out of range.



#11 Darkheart

Darkheart

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 12:52 PM

There are ways for the rookie who moved first to get the target lock.

1/ If an elite pilot on their side has 'squad leader' abillity then they can give an action to the rookie who now meets the conditions to get a target lock.

2/ The pilot "Dutch vander also has an abiltiy to allow an ally to aquire a target lock when Dutch does.

There may be some more as well. I would love to see a pilot (maybe Corran Horn) or ability card that lets you transfer your target lock token to another ally ship. It would work well with the themes set by the X-wing novels.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS