Jump to content



Photo

Doomsword and Poisoned Dagger


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 allawi

allawi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 06:52 AM

Hi all,

 

today this happened. The Warrior had two weapons, The Doomsword and The Poison Dagger. It seems their abilities contradict each-other.

 

The Doomsword: Add 3 to your Strength during Battle. If you roll a 1 for your attack roll, you are automatically deafeated regardless of your Attack Score.

Poisoned Dagger:  Add 1 to your Strength during Battle. If you roll a 1 for your attack roll during Battle, you may roll an additional die and add the result to your attack score.

 

So our question is: Does the Poisoned Dagger negate the negative effect of The Doomsword? Or will the Warrior lose the Battle once he roll a 1 as stated on the Doomsword?

 

regards

Allawi

 

 



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 09:33 AM

I'd say you could say well, I can roll another die for PD's ability, but since you rolled a 1, DS's ability also kicks in and you lose. Don't forget of course the Warrior gets to roll 2 dice and pick, so barring snake-eyes, he probably isn't picking the 1.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,517 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 10:32 PM

allawi said:

 

So our question is: Does the Poisoned Dagger negate the negative effect of The Doomsword? Or will the Warrior lose the Battle once he roll a 1 as stated on the Doomsword?

 

No, it doesn't. Both effects are triggered at the same time by the result of a die roll. If you roll 1, the Poisoned Dagger allows you to roll an additional die and add the result to your combat score, but at the same time the Doomsword makes you lose. The Poisoned Dagger is not making you roll 2 dice AT THE SAME TIME, that's the trick.

As Dam says, only the Warrior may experience this and only if he rolls 1 on BOTH dice when determining the first combat score.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS