Jump to content



Photo

Lightning Attack/Two Weapon Wielder question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Jebidiah

Jebidiah

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:35 AM

Hey there,

If I use Lightning Attack with Two Weapon Wielder (melee and ballistic), and have say a power blade in one hand and an autopistol in the other.

I understand that normally I can make my three attacks with the melee weapon, and a single attack with the pistol.  Normally this would be a single shot, since I am in melee.

However, if I dispatch the target who I was in melee with, then could I not fire the autopistol on full auto?

The rules for two ballistic weapons allow both to be fired on whatever mode you want (ie both on full auto, one on full one on semi, etc), so if the secondary attack can be full auto when using two pistols, why not when using a sword and a pistol?

Thanks,

Jeb 



#2 KommissarK

KommissarK

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,503 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 10:09 AM

Honestly, this is an area where the rules have been inconsistent across the different versions of the game. I can't seem to recall what exactly is the case in Dark Heresy, but I would say that killing the enemy is not enough to allieviate the problem. You spent an action to get a certain amount of benefits (1 full action to lightning attack/ 1 attack with offhand, all at penlaties), so I would leave that as such.



#3 rafaelmb

rafaelmb

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:25 AM

What he said, additionally the lighting attack is a full action, so you have to mix in the off hand attack. Up to GM, but I would rule single shot as in melee, and the applicable penalty to shoot a target different from the one you are engaged.

#4 Kain McDogal

Kain McDogal

    Member

  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 03:53 AM

Jebidiah said:

The rules for two ballistic weapons allow both to be fired on whatever mode you want (ie both on full auto, one on full one on semi, etc), so if the secondary attack can be full auto when using two pistols, why not when using a sword and a pistol?

Because by RAW you  can't use a pistol (or any other ranged weapon)  on Semi- or Full Auto in Meele Combat, only single shots are allowed. Lightning Attack applies only to to meele combat so you can only attack 3 times with your meele weapon and  get 1 single shot with a pistol or an additional attack with another meele weapon held in the other hand against any enemy which is in meele range (must not be the one you attacked first).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS