Jump to content



Photo

Question about Luke Skywalker upgrade.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 El_Tonio

El_Tonio

    Member

  • Members
  • 404 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 05:39 AM

Here is a screenshot of the card from afewmaneuvers.com:

 

Just want to cofirm that the "you" in this text refers to the MF (and not the player in general)? If so, this just means the MF can get a free/second primary attack if the first attack misses (and it doesn't matter if the first attack is with a primary or secondary weapon), correct?

 

 

 

 


REBEL: 5 X-Wing  •  3 Y-Wing  •  2 A-Wing  •  3 YT-1300  •  4 B-Wing  •  1 HWK-290  •  7 Z-95 Headhunter  •  2 E-Wing

IMPERIAL: 8 TIE Fighter  •  2 TIE Advanced X1  •  5 TIE Interceptor  • 3 Firespray 31  •  6 TIE Bomber  •  2 Lambda Class Shuttle  •  2 TIE Phantom  •  2 TIE Defender

FIRST PLACE:  2012 Kessel Run (Amazing Discoveries, Tucson AZ); 2013 Regional (Amazing Discoveries, Tucson AZ); 2013 Regional (Imperial Outpost, Glendale AZ); 2014 Store Championship (Desert Sky Games, Gilbert AZ); 2014 Assault on Imdaar Alpha (Game Depot, Tempe AZ)

 


#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:13 AM

The word "you" on upgrade cards always just refers to the ship the card is attached to.  I'm pretty sure that last sentence is intended to prevent you from just attacking repeatedly until you get a hit.



#3 El_Tonio

El_Tonio

    Member

  • Members
  • 404 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:16 AM

Thanks, that makes sense regarding the second sentence, too. 


REBEL: 5 X-Wing  •  3 Y-Wing  •  2 A-Wing  •  3 YT-1300  •  4 B-Wing  •  1 HWK-290  •  7 Z-95 Headhunter  •  2 E-Wing

IMPERIAL: 8 TIE Fighter  •  2 TIE Advanced X1  •  5 TIE Interceptor  • 3 Firespray 31  •  6 TIE Bomber  •  2 Lambda Class Shuttle  •  2 TIE Phantom  •  2 TIE Defender

FIRST PLACE:  2012 Kessel Run (Amazing Discoveries, Tucson AZ); 2013 Regional (Amazing Discoveries, Tucson AZ); 2013 Regional (Imperial Outpost, Glendale AZ); 2014 Store Championship (Desert Sky Games, Gilbert AZ); 2014 Assault on Imdaar Alpha (Game Depot, Tempe AZ)

 


#4 hothie

hothie

    Member

  • Members
  • 860 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 12:44 PM

The "you" wouldn't necessarily have to be the Falcon, though. It could be any ship that has the Pilot icon on it, to which you have Luke attached. And it does say "perform an attack that does not hit," which could qualify as either a primary or secondary attack.



#5 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 05:33 PM

hothie said:

The "you" wouldn't necessarily have to be the Falcon, though. It could be any ship that has the Pilot icon on it, to which you have Luke attached. And it does say "perform an attack that does not hit," which could qualify as either a primary or secondary attack.

Agreed on all points.  It's true that the Falcon is so far the only ship that can take Luke, but there will almost certainly be others in the future.



#6 gunslinger7827

gunslinger7827

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:57 PM

The falcon came with luke and the slave 1 came with a co-pilot called gunner. luke is rebel only but gunner is not. if i understand the cards correctly luke and gunners cards prevent you from taking both and attempting to shoot 3 times.



#7 DeadInkPen

DeadInkPen

    Member

  • Members
  • 136 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:52 AM

gunslinger7827 said:

The falcon came with luke and the slave 1 came with a co-pilot called gunner. luke is rebel only but gunner is not. if i understand the cards correctly luke and gunners cards prevent you from taking both and attempting to shoot 3 times.

That is correct. The card text at the end tells you that you do not get another after that.



#8 Mavfire

Mavfire

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 01:38 PM

So here is a follow-up question.

If I have the Luke Skywalker Pilot card in play on an X-wing, can I use the Luke Skywalker co-pilot card on the Falcon? They both have a dot next to his name, however, they are seperate function cards. Maybe an oversight on the developers?

Thanks



#9 executor

executor

    Member

  • Members
  • 443 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 02:46 PM

the short answer is no

 

any name with a bullet in front of it can only be used once per team


Current Fleet

Rebellion: 5 X-wings, 4 Y-wings, 5 A-wings, 3 B-wings, 1 HWK-290, 2 YT-1300's, 2 E-wings, 1 Z-95, 1 Rebel Transport, 1 CR-90

Empire: 8 Tie Fighters, 2 Tie Advanced, 9 Tie Interceptors, 3 Tie Bombers, 1 Lambda Shuttle, 3 Firespray 31's, 2 Tie Phantoms, 2 Tie Defenders


#10 godofcheese

godofcheese

    Member

  • Members
  • 256 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 02:58 PM

Mavfire said:

So here is a follow-up question.

If I have the Luke Skywalker Pilot card in play on an X-wing, can I use the Luke Skywalker co-pilot card on the Falcon? They both have a dot next to his name, however, they are seperate function cards. Maybe an oversight on the developers?

Thanks

 

Millenium Falcon pack insert. Section; New Rules (pg 1)

Unique Names

The last sentence in this rule reads: "As with other cards that have unique names, a player cannot field two or more cards that share a unique name, even if they are different types of cards."

 

It also means that you can't have Chewbacca co-piloting a YT-1300 (piloted by Han for eg), and have the Chewbacca YT-1300 pilot.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS