Jump to content



Photo

Clarification on "Dual Strike"


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Grimbeard

Grimbeard

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 07:17 AM

Hi there,

I need some help on the Dual Strike Talent. What exactly is meant in the description by "if the attack hits, the target´s armor gets applied as normal to both hits individually". Dual Strike is one attack (full action with two weapons) so what about "individually"???

 

regards



#2 Kasatka

Kasatka

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,005 posts

Posted 12 December 2012 - 02:57 AM

Grimbeard said:

Hi there,

I need some help on the Dual Strike Talent. What exactly is meant in the description by "if the attack hits, the target´s armor gets applied as normal to both hits individually". Dual Strike is one attack (full action with two weapons) so what about "individually"???

 

regards

Dual strike is using your dual-wielding abilities to smash a target with two weapons simultaneously, and as such the targets armour is deducted from EACH damage roll.

There is an option either in deathwatch or one of the other 40k RPs that allows you to pair your attacks so that you add your two damage rolls together and THEN deduct armour and TB. As you can imagine there is quite a large variance in damage dealt between these two methods.


Only the insane have strength enough to prosper.

Only those that prosper may truly judge what is sane.


#3 Dramacydle

Dramacydle

    Member

  • Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 01:26 PM

Before Toughness is subtracted and the location of the attack is subtracted from armor, each creature or npc that you fight has a armor rating. With any attack, especially dual strike, swift attack or lightning attack, yes there maybe one or more attacks but according to the rules, first you have to succeed on the ballistic skill or weapon skill test, find hit location by reversing rolled characterisitic number and for each roll you succeed in beating the target number by rolling even with the number OR under it, you get individual damage rolls per number attacks the talent gives. So yes subtract armor and then toughness then your left with total damage. If the damage is equal to or x2 the toughness modifier bonus then the creature is lightly wounded. If the creature is any more damaged than x2 it's wounds then the creature is heavily wounded. Please note that critical damage is rolled after the wounds drop to below 0 wounds and then you would check the critical injury chart per type of damage from weapon.IE rending, energy impact etc…..






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS