Jump to content



Photo

Force weapon, Force Field and Trait questions


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TheMouthOfSauron

TheMouthOfSauron

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

1: Pg 149 of BC states that, when a character with a Psy Rating uses a Force Weapon, "For every point of Psy Rating the wielder has, the weapon's Damage and Penetration increase by +1". In the following example, a Psy Rating 3 character would have a Force Sword that inflicts "1d10+3 (plus SB) and have a penetration of 3".

 My question is, since the Psy Rating value increases Dam/Pen, shouldn't a Force Sword (which has base stats of Dam 1d10+2, Pen 2) in the hands of a Psy Rating 3 character have a profile of 'Dam 1d10+5, Pen 5'? 

 

2: Pg 178, under the heading Force Fields, states that to repair an overloaded field requires either a 'Very Hard (-30) Tech Use test' or the 'Mechanical Replenishment upgrade'. 

 Can anyone refer me to a page reference for this upgrade?

 

3: Pg 142, the 'Possession' Trait. Does taking this trait give you a minion who has the power to possess others as a full action, or is the Trait used to allow you to have an existing NPC possessed so you can then use them as a minion? If it gives you a minon that can possess others, what happens to their own body when they possess another?

 

Thanks for any help :)



#2 Kbobsky

Kbobsky

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:10 AM

1. I would say the book has a typo. It's been known to happen, so the correct numbers would indeed be 1d10+5, pen 5.

2. Searching through my BC pdf, I couldn't come up with that upgrade. That stuff is probably cut'n'pasted from Rogue Trader without editing and the upgrade for the force field has been left out of the book. Things like that come up every now and then in BC.

3. The former; possession trait gives you a minion that can possess others. I would say the fate of the original body depends on other circumstances. For incorporeal (can you have one as a minion?) minions, it'd just disappear, for other cases the body would remain as it were, in stasis, until the possession ends or the creature is slain. That's the usual case for possession in most genres, I think. Just my 2cents there, though.

M

TheMouthOfSauron said:

1: Pg 149 of BC states that, when a character with a Psy Rating uses a Force Weapon, "For every point of Psy Rating the wielder has, the weapon's Damage and Penetration increase by +1". In the following example, a Psy Rating 3 character would have a Force Sword that inflicts "1d10+3 (plus SB) and have a penetration of 3".

 My question is, since the Psy Rating value increases Dam/Pen, shouldn't a Force Sword (which has base stats of Dam 1d10+2, Pen 2) in the hands of a Psy Rating 3 character have a profile of 'Dam 1d10+5, Pen 5'? 

 

2: Pg 178, under the heading Force Fields, states that to repair an overloaded field requires either a 'Very Hard (-30) Tech Use test' or the 'Mechanical Replenishment upgrade'. 

 Can anyone refer me to a page reference for this upgrade?

 

3: Pg 142, the 'Possession' Trait. Does taking this trait give you a minion who has the power to possess others as a full action, or is the Trait used to allow you to have an existing NPC possessed so you can then use them as a minion? If it gives you a minon that can possess others, what happens to their own body when they possess another?

 

Thanks for any help :)



#3 Kbobsky

Kbobsky

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:11 AM

I took another look at the the Rogue Trader and Into the Storm -books. Looks like the "mechanical replenishment" might be either the luminem capacitors or flesh replenishment implants.

 

M



#4 TheMouthOfSauron

TheMouthOfSauron

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:55 AM

Thanks for your answers. Most appreciated.



#5 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 12 December 2012 - 06:32 PM

1. Pretty sure that one's errata'd. If not, it's still a typo.

2. Luminen Capacitators.

3. Minions cannot take the Possession trait, going by the trait lists they have. Of course, you could use the "Unique Minions" sidebox to allow for that -- I'd not recommend it though. The Possession trait usually only come into play when there's daemons who use it (usually as an perils of the warp result).

The "what happens with the body thing" is more or less irrelevant, as I cannot think of a single human with a normal body that can possess people (to be honest, it shouldn't happen. Maybe a psychic power effect, some kind of 'spirit possession' -- but there's no rules for that anyway). It's more or less only warp denizens who possesses, and in that case their bodies end up in the possessed body.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS