Jump to content



Photo

A few questions and clarifications


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 thecoldwarrior

thecoldwarrior

    Member

  • Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 01:54 PM

We need a few technical clarifications about when and what should be done in some specific circumstances.

1 Trauma cards: Does a trauma card actually go to a player when it is stated on the card to do an effect and then discard the card. The reason for this question is that if the card actually move to the player then a previous trauma card already on them of the same type would be removed.

2 Insane investigators: When an investigator is insane can they have any amount of any type of trauma card played on them? Is it only once per turn, is there a limit to the amount or type?

3 This next one is a question of timing. An investigator was in a space next to a door with the "It's Alive" trauma card on him. As he was preparing to move through the door I played "Bugs Bugs" on him. Where would the equipment cards be placed? Would they be placed in the room where he was before going through the door or on the floor in the space in the new room he entered after moving through the door?

4 When an investigator attempts to move through a door and succeeds, have they moved through the door or can they decide to not move through the door. For example, the investigator is attempting to move through a door with a lock on it, receives the horror from the card and it is then discarded…must the investigator move into the new room or can they decide to not move into the new room?

5 When an investigator explores a room can they decide to not keep any of the cards that they would normally take for having explored successfully? For example: My investigator spends an action to explore, he receives a knife and decides to keep it, receives a torch but decides not to keep it leaving it in the piles of cards since the keeper has the action card Uncontrollable Urges. If so does this mean the end of the exploration or can the rest of the cards then be seen and the investigator choose which to keep and which to leave?

Please refer to the number when answering if only for my own sanity :)

Thank you



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 08:57 PM

thecoldwarrior said:

We need a few technical clarifications about when and what should be done in some specific circumstances.

1 Trauma cards: Does a trauma card actually go to a player when it is stated on the card to do an effect and then discard the card. The reason for this question is that if the card actually move to the player then a previous trauma card already on them of the same type would be removed.

2 Insane investigators: When an investigator is insane can they have any amount of any type of trauma card played on them? Is it only once per turn, is there a limit to the amount or type?

3 This next one is a question of timing. An investigator was in a space next to a door with the "It's Alive" trauma card on him. As he was preparing to move through the door I played "Bugs Bugs" on him. Where would the equipment cards be placed? Would they be placed in the room where he was before going through the door or on the floor in the space in the new room he entered after moving through the door?

4 When an investigator attempts to move through a door and succeeds, have they moved through the door or can they decide to not move through the door. For example, the investigator is attempting to move through a door with a lock on it, receives the horror from the card and it is then discarded…must the investigator move into the new room or can they decide to not move into the new room?

5 When an investigator explores a room can they decide to not keep any of the cards that they would normally take for having explored successfully? For example: My investigator spends an action to explore, he receives a knife and decides to keep it, receives a torch but decides not to keep it leaving it in the piles of cards since the keeper has the action card Uncontrollable Urges. If so does this mean the end of the exploration or can the rest of the cards then be seen and the investigator choose which to keep and which to leave?

#1: Yes, playing say Panic on an investigator that has a previous Sanity Trauma, the previous one would get discarded and after Panic resolves, it too is discarded, leaving the investigator with no Sanity Trauma.

#2: If you're talking about normal usage, then, whenever a trigger is met. If you're talking about the extra Keeper action against insane investigators:

"The only exception to this restriction is if an investigator has zero sanity, in which case the keeper may play one insanity Trauma card on the investigator as a keeper action (once per turn per insane investigator)." (p. 25)

#3: What does "It's Alive" do? Automatically lose 1 Sanity when going through a door?

#4: Yes, decision is the Move Action, which must be completed once chosen (and if not stopped by a Lock).

#5: "The player must take each of these cards and place it faceup next to his Character card (to mark that he is carrying it)." (p. 9)

Even the rulebook emphasises the word "must". You can later use the Drop action if you want.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Dalladon

Dalladon

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:53 PM

1. From my experience it is only a question if a card is tempoary or permanent, discard 'this' card is only the card in question and therefore doesn't remove other similar card.

2. Already perfectly explained by Dam

3. I will remind you and I think this is a question similar to the first, that Trauma Cards can only be played once a player takes Health or Sanity damage, supposedly your scenario misses the actual description that the man moving through the door takes a sanity hit, if that is the case I will refer to "It's Alive", since "It's Alive" clearly states it is a Willpower Check before moving through a door, the equipment will be dropped where the sanity is taken, on the side of the door where the investigator tried to move through it. Yes, that is cruel as hell when you think about it, but combinations of Keeper Cards is a possible way to do so.

4. Related to the question before, no they move through it, what you are asking is if the player can stop, pick up his equipment before trying to move through the door again? This is a poor hypothetical question overall seeing how it isn't about timing, but a talk about 'reality', something that has been the complaint of some of my players too. Which I then asked them about in Blood Ties when they didn't wanna take Insanity checks for any monster in line of sight of them (Described in the rulebook), and suddenly they changed. Follow the rules as they are, or follow common sense, personally I play with the rules because that is how it is intended, and because applying logic to Lovecraft is not healthy to the atmosphere and can really ruin the experience. One of the famous questions in at least my case is the Blood Ties one again, when a certain clue card made the keeper 'add a zombie to location x' in this case location x wasn't far from the investigator, and the Clue Card reads that he can see the shambling monstrousity, but since it is not in the room with him is it really scary? Overall though - I'd say go for the rules, our major houserule is that all players swear to follow the ruleset and be forced to almost religiously make storylike excuses why something isn't realistic or logically sound. Again up to you what you wanna play with. In my case, logic can ruin a game, and really when you are chased over a chasm by a shoggoth, you don't stop to worry about whether the shambling wooden bridge can hold it at all. You just get out of there. Demand a little immersion from your players, in the case of the Bugs Bugs, and It's Alive however I will say this for a storyline.

 

"As you go through the door and grab the handle, bugs seem to pour out of every crack in the X (Insert room). They crawl fast towards you, as you yank the door trying to get it open, but it doesn't budge at all. Desperate you throw your Y and Z (Insert Equipment) in a frantic panic before finally the door gives in and you rush through the door. Luckily escaping to the other side, though leaving your equipment behind. Even as you put your head to the door you can hear the buzzing from the other side." - There, perfectly sensible suggestion to how they lost their equipment on the other side, with a bit of story element, if they have a gun you can say they fired it at the bugs, and when the clip was empty, just threw it at them and escape to the other side. Whatever fits the current situation. With good storytelling, anything becomes believable.

 

5. Agreed with Dam.



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 07:56 PM

Regarding #1:

"Each investigator may have a maximum of one injury and one

insanity at any given time. If he receives a second card of the
same type, the original card is discarded first." (p. 25)
 
In order to play Panic on an investigator with another Trauma already (Insanity Trauma), the first card needs to be discarded to play the second card, whether the second card remains after its effect is resolved or not.

"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS