Jump to content



Photo

Cloud of Mist


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Nexx

Nexx

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:41 AM

Hey again,
OK, let me try to hash this problem out.

I'm playing the Spiritseeker (Elder Mok) and I've got Cloud of Mist. It lets me spend one fatigue, exhaust the card and while that card is exhaisted, figures must spend a surge to hit their target (within three spaces of the caster)
Now, one of the Heroes is playing a Runemaster who has an ability to cancel a surge on atacks that target him. So, with CoM (cloud of mist) in play the OL attacks him and gets a surge, Runemaster gets rid of the surge and blam, the attack fails. Here's the problem.
If a monster has Fire breath, (where fire can move up to four spaces in any direction) and attacks Me, gets a surge to use Fire Breath and then includes the Runemaster in his attack, can the RM use his ability to cancel out the enture attack?

the combination of his ability and my cloud are pretty strong together. Any help or advice would be appreciated

 

-Nexx-



#2 RagsMckay

RagsMckay

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:21 AM

Nexx said:

Hey again,
OK, let me try to hash this problem out.

I'm playing the Spiritseeker (Elder Mok) and I've got Cloud of Mist. It lets me spend one fatigue, exhaust the card and while that card is exhaisted, figures must spend a surge to hit their target (within three spaces of the caster)
Now, one of the Heroes is playing a Runemaster who has an ability to cancel a surge on atacks that target him. So, with CoM (cloud of mist) in play the OL attacks him and gets a surge, Runemaster gets rid of the surge and blam, the attack fails. Here's the problem.
If a monster has Fire breath, (where fire can move up to four spaces in any direction) and attacks Me, gets a surge to use Fire Breath and then includes the Runemaster in his attack, can the RM use his ability to cancel out the enture attack?

the combination of his ability and my cloud are pretty strong together. Any help or advice would be appreciated

 

-Nexx-

 

The way we have played this type of issue is this.

 

If the wording of the Runemaster skill says he can cancel a search if he is the "Target of an attack" then he could not cancel anything from the senario you described where your character was attacked first. The reason our group decided this is because the damage the Runemaster takes is from an affect of the attack, similar to blast. Becuase the Runemaster was not the actual target of the attack, your character was.

 


I die...A lot.


#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,569 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:43 PM

N/m.  Changed my mind about this post :P






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS