… Hey there,
we were trying our first game of BSG yesterday (basis game) and it went very smoothly till the end. But we were not sure if we handled "the end" correct.
The Humans were at distance 8 and at -3 pop jump preperation step for the winning jump. The resource were pretty thin, with only 2 pop left the human player didnt want to risk an early jump, as the chance for losing 3 pop is pretty high. So he decided against it, played his turn as normal with the crisis card. The humans beat the crisis and were now on the -1 pop jump prep step. So pretty close to an actual victory.
But then it was the revealed cylon player's turn. He decided to move to Caprica and draw 2 crisis cards, he chose a crisis card with either a skill check or an "or" option. The card was also reading "The current player decides". As we were checking the rule book the cylon player is allowed to chose the "or" part on the crisis card. The bad thing was, this "or" part had an auto -1 to Morale and the Morale of the fleet was at 1 at this point. So with the "or" part being chosen the Morale was set to 0 and thus resulting in the cylon victory
My question is, did we handle this the correct way? I think so yes as page 20 states that " a choice for the current player, that player makes the decision". We had an heated arguement as it was really a close one…
But it was really fun anyway, even if i was on the losing side in the end