Jump to content



Photo

[rule question] generating resources: to focus or not to focus?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sorty

sorty

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:54 PM


Some effects in the game could trigger only if you "place focus tokens on a card to…", other could trigger only if you "focus a card to…".

You can read about this important difference at page 10 of the official rules, in " A Matter of Focus", where they stated that
"Some card abilities or game rules require one or more focus tokens to be placed onto a card. This does not cause the card to focus (i.e. trigger an ability or take some other action) but it does cause the card to become exhausted."

By searching for the word "focus" in the rules, at page 16, "Generating Resources", they carefully avoid to use the wording "to focus" but they always use "place a number of focus token".
So until here it seems that you don't focus any card to generate resource, but instead you simply place focus tokens.

But at page 17, "Resource Example #1" they use another wording, only one time, but it is still enough for me to have a doubt.
On the third paragraph you read:

"He could generate one resource each from both “Cloud City Casino” cards. However, neither neutral resource would have the resource match required to play a Jedi affiliation card. Instead, he focuses one “Cloud City Casino” (generating one neutral resource) and the “Forgotten Heroes” objective card (generating one Jedi resource). With two resources, including one that matches the affiliation of “Trust Your Feelings,” the LS player is able to pay the cost of the card and play it."

So, the question is: if you want a card to generate resources, do you focus it - triggering effects like "when you focus a card.." - or not?
 



#2 LMKComaBlack

LMKComaBlack

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:43 AM

 

The impression I've gotten is that "placing focus" only exhausts or further exhausts cards, with no other effect (save something that triggers upon becoming exhausted, as opposed to Focused).  "Focusing" a card is payment for some ability, be it an attack or a resource generating effect.  Most cards can only be Focused once, and only if they are unexhausted.  Many objectives that generate multiple resources can be Focused more than once, but still must be unexhausted to start. Additionally, you can only Focus your own card, though you can place focus on anything in the game, typically your opponents cards.



#3 karat

karat

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 07:39 AM

sorty said:


Some effects in the game could trigger only if you "place focus tokens on a card to…", other could trigger only if you "focus a card to…".

You can read about this important difference at page 10 of the official rules, in " A Matter of Focus", where they stated that
"Some card abilities or game rules require one or more focus tokens to be placed onto a card. This does not cause the card to focus (i.e. trigger an ability or take some other action) but it does cause the card to become exhausted."

By searching for the word "focus" in the rules, at page 16, "Generating Resources", they carefully avoid to use the wording "to focus" but they always use "place a number of focus token".
So until here it seems that you don't focus any card to generate resource, but instead you simply place focus tokens.

But at page 17, "Resource Example #1" they use another wording, only one time, but it is still enough for me to have a doubt.
On the third paragraph you read:

"He could generate one resource each from both “Cloud City Casino” cards. However, neither neutral resource would have the resource match required to play a Jedi affiliation card. Instead, he focuses one “Cloud City Casino” (generating one neutral resource) and the “Forgotten Heroes” objective card (generating one Jedi resource). With two resources, including one that matches the affiliation of “Trust Your Feelings,” the LS player is able to pay the cost of the card and play it."

So, the question is: if you want a card to generate resources, do you focus it - triggering effects like "when you focus a card.." - or not?
 

Based on their other LCGs, "focus a card to" is *very* different from "when you focus a card."  The word "to" usually indicates paying a cost, not triggering an action, so you can't combine that with another benefit.  "When you focus a card" would typically indicate a constant effect.  Of course, this is based off of their other LCGs, and some of their LCGs work differently than others, so no guarantees here.

 

Since the exact wording matters, can you give some examples?



#4 just Logan

just Logan

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:02 AM

just to add a bit from a very picky player who has dealt with wording, I'm pretty sure FFG's stance is that exaples are not part of the rules text and are worded casually (ie poorly). There are many places where the examples are good for  illustrating a basic point, if they were taken as rules text of even read by a rules minded person the confuse. Dust tactics did this many times. Exaples are meant to be very basic explations of how that one function works and the fact that they are in "'s shows even more that they are not rules text. That bold on pg 10, those are the rules.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS