Jump to content



Photo

A couple of Rule clarifications and certain character rules.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 warlord739

warlord739

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:16 PM

Okay, I recently started playing Descent 2nd Edition and have a couple questions I need some clarification on listed as so.

 

1. Can you trace line of sight past a tile that has a black border (I.E. end of map tiles). Example being I trace a line of site that touches the corner of a black tile while connecting it to the characters corners. Do I still have adequate line of site in this event?

 

2. Do friendly characters count as an obstacle in line of sight? Can I shoot through the fighter to hit a monster or do I have to adjust my character to hit with a clear line of sight? I read the wildlander's card "Eagle Eyes" that allows you to shoot through friendly units and wanted to clarify for sake of my groups peace of mind.

 

3. The character "Eliam" in the conversion kit states "When you have 2 Melee weapons equipped each time you attack an adjacent monster and do not roll an X, deal 1 damage to 1 other monster adjacent to you." Neither of the class archetypes support duel wielding so if a character chose a knight and unequipped his shield would his offhand be considered a melee weapon because in the rules it states that a character can use his fist as a melee weapon but only receives the blue attack die when doing so. Can he unequip his shield in order to activate his hero ability?

Any help in answering these questions would be appreciated. Even if it's just house rules. I have no objection to setting house rules that need set to make the game more enjoyable for everyone involved!

Thank you for helping me out in this manner if you choose to! 



#2 warlord739

warlord739

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:41 PM

 Another Question!

 - Characters with Reach. if they have a reach weapon, in order to deal damage do they have have AT LEAST one range to hit the target?

 

My players are VERY picky and these sort of questions pop up from time to time heh.



#3 warlord739

warlord739

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 11:31 PM

warlord739 said:

 Another Question!

 - Characters with Reach. if they have a reach weapon, in order to deal damage do they have to have AT LEAST two range to hit the target?

 

My players are VERY picky and these sort of questions pop up from time to time heh. I'm sure I have the answer myself but I wanna be sure for their sake.

.



#4 Sausageman

Sausageman

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 12:48 AM

warlord739 said:

 Another Question!

 - Characters with Reach. if they have a reach weapon, in order to deal damage do they have have AT LEAST one range to hit the target?

 

My players are VERY picky and these sort of questions pop up from time to time heh.

Asbsolutely not.  Reach is a melee 'trait'.  Melee attacks, by and large, ignore any range numbers showing as they are irrelevant to the equation.    Reach lets you attack 1 square beyond the adjacent square - you don't need the range because either you or your weapon is MASSIVE and extends into that area naturally.

There has been some conversations about whether you need line of sight for Reach though.  We settled on 'yes, you do' btw.



#5 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 02:08 AM

1.) Yes.  Even though they left out "a map tile, a door, or" in the 2nd paragraph below, the LOS rules apply to walls & doors as well, I think, although the corner rule is problematic.  Movement across corners is explicitly allowed.

Page 12: "If the line passes through the edge of a map tile, a door, or a blocked space (a space containing a figure or obstacle), the target space is not in line of sight (see “Line of Sight Example” on page 12).

If the line passes along the edge of a blocked space (see “Line of Sight Example” on page 12), the target space is not in line of sight. However, if the line only touches the corner of a blocked space (without passing through the space itself ), the target space is in line of sight."

Page 9: "Players should note that the black edge of the map tile does not block diagonal movement around corners."

 

2.) Yes, all figures -- friendly or enemy -- normally count as blocked spaces.  Eagle Eyes & Elm Greatbow override this.

 

3.) I don't think it is clear from the rules, which don't explicitly call bare hands (plural) a melee weapon / attack.  Technically it appears to allow a bare hands attack even if you have a weapon (& shield) equipped, although there would normally be no advantage to do so.  I think it would make a good house rule if playing Eliam as a Knight to allow him to unequip his shield & use his ability, lowering his defense to increase his offense.

Page 12: "The player must also declare which equipped weapon his hero is using.  Heroes may either attack with one equipped weapon or their bare hands.  A hero attacking with his bare hands can only target an adjacent space and rolls only the blue attack die for his attack."

 

4.) Adam Sadler has said that "Melee attacks usually require 0 range (even with Reach)".

boardgamegeek.com/thread/863073/adam-sez-thread-potentially-official-not-yet-faq



#6 warlord739

warlord739

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

 Okay. Thanks for the help guys! Playing with my group tonight and these clarifications help.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS