Jump to content



Photo

Interpretation of "or" in the rules


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 AnimalKDR

AnimalKDR

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 06:40 AM

 This comes most into play with the sorcery ability.  When the rules say you can spend x on range or damage, is it an exclusive or, or inclusive or?

In other words, if you have sorcery 3, can you spend 2 on damage and 1 on range, or must all 3 be spent on either damage or range?



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,675 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 02:35 PM

The exact wording of Sorcery in 2E is as follows:

"Sorcery X: After making an attack roll, this monster may convert up to X range to [Heart], or up to X[Heart] to range."

I think that's fairly clear in that it can only be used in one direction or the other.  Even if you COULD use it both ways at once, why would you want to?  That would just have the effect of using up your X rating to lesser effect than it could achieve going in only one direction.



#3 warlord739

warlord739

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:32 PM

 You can divide it up evenly as you choose as far as I believe. You can spend 2 of your sorcery for range and one for damage. That's the way I interpret it. You can split it up anyway that you deem necessary to make the attack hit and to add damage as needed.



#4 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 01:07 AM

warlord739 said:

You can divide it up evenly as you choose as far as I believe. You can spend 2 of your sorcery for range and one for damage. That's the way I interpret it. You can split it up anyway that you deem necessary to make the attack hit and to add damage as needed.

You don't get 3 free points to spend.  With Sorcery 3 you can either convert up to 3 damage {heart} into range or vice versa.  In most cases I've seen, it has been converting range into damage, but it could be useful to get an extra range or two rather than miss (especially in Act II when you're rolling lots of dice).



#5 Ispher

Ispher

    Member

  • Members
  • 278 posts

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:28 AM

AnimalKDR said:

 This comes most into play with the sorcery ability.  When the rules say you can spend x on range or damage, is it an exclusive or, or inclusive or?

In other words, if you have sorcery 3, can you spend 2 on damage and 1 on range, or must all 3 be spent on either damage or range?

You seem to be playing D2 Sorcery the way D1 Sorcery was played.

As Steve-O and Triu wrote, the rule of Sorcery has changed. It has been weakened in the sense that Sorcery is not an enhancer any more, but only a converter. Before, in D1, you could enhance your range or your damage by the number of Sorcery you had; now, in D2, you can only convert what is rolled on your dice.

I made the same mistake at first.



#6 AnimalKDR

AnimalKDR

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:56 PM

 you are correct, I totally misread that rule.  Was using it to enhance instead of convert. Guess my brain was in 1e mode when I read it.  Here I thought it was only slightly nerfed, here its been totally nerfed






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS