Jump to content



Photo

Can players choose 2x the same archetype ?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Roytamir

Roytamir

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 01:21 AM

Hi all,

 

Is it possible to play the hero with several times the same archetype? (Of course, not the same class).

Example: If two players want to take the runes' master and the necromancer, is the game still playable?

 

 

I know that the rules forbid it, but has someone tested those configuration ?

Are the quests still balanced?

 

 

Thank you in advance!
PS : sorry for my english…



#2 Carnagecjb

Carnagecjb

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:06 AM

 Actually, the rules forbid using two of the same class, but do not prevent there from being two of the same archetype…

RAW, it is perfectly acceptable to make a party composed of:

The Knight

The Berserker

The RuneMaster

and

The Necromancer

I'm not sure how well such a party would play out in the long run, but it is perfectly legal to use…



#3 Roytamir

Roytamir

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:23 AM

Ok.

I mixed the player activation card color and the archetype !
So it's legal to play with 2 Mages and 2 Healers.

I am skeptical of a configuration like this in the long term.
So if you have any feedback, I'm interested.

But if this is allowed, then why not let them do?

 

Thanks !



#4 Areinu

Areinu

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 04:46 AM

 We have Necromancer, Runemaster, Knight and Wildlander(not sure about that one, I have my game in Polish) and we're close to end of first act and doing just fine. We have to minimize damage lost as we have no healing capabilities ;)



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,607 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 12:14 PM

Roytamir said:

 

I mixed the player activation card color and the archetype !
So it's legal to play with 2 Mages and 2 Healers.

 

 

It's legal, yes.  It's probably not wise, as those are the four squishiest characters in the game all lumped together, but it's legal.

The Reanimate MIGHT be able to tank for them…

Roytamir said:

 

But if this is allowed, then why not let them do?

 

 

Assuming you're the type of OL who tries to win as much as he can, there's absolutely no reason not to let them do this.  You can show them why it's a bad idea first hand. >=)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS