Jump to content



Photo

Sorry to insist but…


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Andur Saibot

Andur Saibot

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 06:40 AM

Shouldn't "Lightsaber Deflection" have the Force keyword as well as Alter, Sense and/or Control?

I know is not the most important issue over here, but knowing the level of erratas that FFG sometimes have in their new releases (I am a MOM player as you can see) I think it was worth mentioning it.



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 06:48 AM

Why would it ? It is not using the Force it is using the lightsaber itself. 

 



#3 MarthWMaster

MarthWMaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,227 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:04 AM

Where is Luke supposed to be in that picture? It kind of looks like the Emperor's throne room on the Death Star. Which begs the question of who's shooting at him, as I'd imagine the throne room is more or less a "no blasting zone" for stormtroopers.



#4 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

    Member

  • Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:27 AM

 Those are mind bullets. The artist had to give them some form of visual representation.



#5 Andur Saibot

Andur Saibot

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:49 AM

Toqtamish said:

Why would it ? It is not using the Force it is using the lightsaber itself. 

 

 

 

Just like in here, it would seem…



#6 ScottieATF

ScottieATF

    Member

  • Members
  • 722 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 08:44 AM

Andur Saibot said:

Toqtamish said:

 

Why would it ? It is not using the Force it is using the lightsaber itself. 

 

 

 

 

 

Just like in here, it would seem…

Your assumption is that it wasn't a purposeful distinction.  You can't claim it was a mistake because FFG has to errata some cards, because most require no errata.  Maybe a future card allows you to recycle Force events, and they don't want Deflection recycled etc.  You are assuming to much.



#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 08:50 AM

Maybe one requires the Force and one does not, the flavor text on Counter Stroke points to that. Or maybe it is simply as others said supposed to be this way and was fully intentional.



#8 Andur Saibot

Andur Saibot

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:32 AM

OK, maybe this is fully intentional due to in-game purpose, and I am OK with that, but Lightsaber Deflection has been a Jedi technique/Force manipulation ability since the beginning of STARWARS-based games and it just felt weird it wasn't in here.

Please note this was no deliberate attack to FFG, just a remark based on bitter experience.



#9 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

    Member

  • Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 12:31 PM

 This is silly.

The most likely explanation is that the card does not have the force trait due to it potentially being too powerful in conjunction with current or future cards that may target or enhance cards with the force trait.  



#10 MarthWMaster

MarthWMaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,227 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 02:20 PM

Lightsaber Deflection does seem quite powerful, since it doesn't stipulate anything about the source of the damage being redirected. It can come from striking, card effects, anything.



#11 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

    Member

  • Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:47 PM

MarthWMaster said:

Lightsaber Deflection does seem quite powerful, since it doesn't stipulate anything about the source of the damage being redirected. It can come from striking, card effects, anything.

This card has Tarkin's face written all over it.



#12 MarthWMaster

MarthWMaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,227 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 06:49 PM

We can't repel firepower of that magnitude!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS