Jump to content



Photo

"characters with ranged can attack or defend against"


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 02:54 AM

 My question regards the fact that Ranged is a keyword designed for attack, as described by the core rules:

"A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players. A character can declare ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks that are declared by other players. In either case, the character must exhaust and meet any other requirements necessary to make the attack."

 

In case of Mirkwood Flock and Black Forest Bats:

1)  if they are engaged with other player:

I cannot use a Sentinel character to defend it? 

Or that character must have the ranged keyword also, either by print text (Haldir of Lorien or Dunedain Wanderer) or by an attachment (both Dunedain Signal and Cache; a ranged character with the response form Arwen; A Rivendell Bow or an Dunedain Cache on a sentinel character)?

 

 

2) if they are engaged with me

 I must use a ranged character or an eagle to defend it?

 

Thanks for your replies

 

 

 


Carlos José Matos


#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 02:59 AM

i think the character must either be an eagle or ranged to do either, whether that be through sentinel or directly engaged with you

so if you want to use sentinel then the sentinel character must also have ranged or be an eagle

if the engaged player want to defend then it must also have ranged or be an eagle

thats how i see it

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 03:49 AM

That is also what i thought, but wanted to ear the opinions of others.

 

That is a little crap… Exhaust a ranged character (which are mostly suited to attack, except perhaps Brand, Dunedain Wanderer and Haldir) to defend a 1/2 attack enemy…


Carlos José Matos


#4 cyberlettuce

cyberlettuce

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 10:58 AM

I have a question related to this. The Moria bats in Foundations of Stone require that a character has the ranged keyword in order to attack or defend them. So if I don't have any characters with the ranged keyword, bows or anything that will give the ranged keyword does this mean that I have to take the damage undefended on a hero?



#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 11:02 AM

yes that is correct. they are very annoying enemies to have in play if you have no ranged characters

you cannot also attack them without ranged characters (again whether that is printed ranged or through an attatchment)

rich


Edited by richsabre, 04 July 2013 - 11:03 AM.

My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 cyberlettuce

cyberlettuce

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 01:35 PM

Ah thanks for the quick answer Rich. Yes very annoying indeed!!



#7 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,854 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 04:13 PM

you can use sentinel to block them BUT ONLY IF they also have ranged or are a eagle . Not sure what the confusion here is.. it says it right on the card.. you have to have be a eagle or have the ranged keyword to block or attack.

 

Remember that Wyland or w/e it is spelt is a eagle and can attack or block the bats as they have no defense.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#8 Olorin93

Olorin93

    Member

  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 02:07 PM

Why does Black Forest Bats require a ranged character to act Sentinel? I can't find anything about it on the card.



#9 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 02:13 PM

Why does Black Forest Bats require a ranged character to act Sentinel? I can't find anything about it on the card.

are you talking about passage through mirkwood bats? if so there is another enemy with the same name in a later pack

rich

 

ffg_black-forest-bats-ajtr.jpg

 

ffg_black-forest-bats-core.jpg


Edited by richsabre, 06 July 2013 - 02:15 PM.

My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS