First : About ranged
The card Rivendell Bow says : it gets +1 Attack during a ranged attack. www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/dwarrowdelf/the-watcher-in-the-water/rivendell-bow-twitw. But what is a ranged attack ?
An attack against an ennemy engaged with another player ?
An attack against an ennemy not engaged with you ?
An attack who need the Ranged keyword ?
For the one who don't see the diffenrence, those are 3 differents answers :
In the first case, hands upon the bow (http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/dwarrowdelf/shadow-and-flame/hands-upon-the-bow-saf) or goblin archer (www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/khazad-dum/goblin-archer-kd) give you no bonus. Nor doesblack forest bats (www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/shadows-of-mirkwood/a-journey-to-rhosgobel/black-forest-bats-ajtr) or mirkwood flock (www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/shadows-of-mirkwood/a-journey-to-rhosgobel/mirkwood-flock-ajtr).
In the second case, hands upon the bow and goblin archer give you the +1 bonus, but not for black forest bats and mirkwood flocks.
In the thirs cas, you have the +1 bonus in those 4 situation.
Definition from the rulebook :
A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players. A character can declare ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks that are declared by other players. In either case, the character must exhaust and meet any other requirements necessary to make the attack.
It says when you can declare ranged attacks, but not if it's the only moment when an attack is considered ranged. The cards raising the question where not in the coreset so I believe that the definition of a ranged may need to be extended.
Can we have a confirmation or an extension of the definition of a Ranged attack ?
Second : About out of turn actions
During an ennemy attack, players have opportunity to use actions. Some cards makes the ennemies attack out of the combat phase, like in the staging step, when players can't normally use actions. See wild bear (www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/dwarrowdelf/road-to-rivendell/wild-bear-rtr) and followed by night (www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/dwarrowdelf/road-to-rivendell/followed-by-night-rtr]followed by night).
Can players use actions in those pseudo-combat phase or not ?
This is extremely important when you can straighten Eleanor or use a dwarven tomb on a test of will… or using the second action of the magic ring of bilbo in the third quest of over hill and under hill…… wait, this is totally silly, why would players uses bilbo magic ring when you can't use its action during the staging step…
Bonus ! Third one : Magic Ring
Card text :
Action: When answering a riddle, spend 1 [Baggins] resource to discard an additional player card from the top of your deck.
Should we read Response instead of Action ?
Thanks a lot for reading this long post. Sorry if I try to breaking rules