Jump to content



Photo

Played a big 7 player game last night - Few Q's


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Wakrob

Wakrob

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:02 AM

 

The Ghosts of Creuss player thought his flagship could teleport anywhere on the map.

Hil Colish

You may treat this ship's system as if it had a "D" Wormhole in it.  When this ship is moving, treat its destination system as if it had the Wormhole"

He argued that since it is always at a "D" Wormhole and where ever it goes also counts as having one he can teleport anywhere on the board.  Im pretty sure that is wrong…?

My flagship for the Yin brotherhood says Ground Forces in the system with it can act as fighters.  So If Im on Rex with 20 Ground Forces there and my flagship. can all 20 fight as fighters OR just as many as I have capacity for? (that flagship has capacity 4)

Can you Signal Jam the same player twice in the same Strat Phase?  If not how about two different players?

 

Wakrob

 



#2 Wakrob

Wakrob

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:36 AM

Sorry, another Q that came up.

 

Shard of the Throne (LAW)

Elect Player

Give this card to the player. He needs 1 less victory point to win the game.

When another player destroys 1 unit belonging to this card's owner during battle, the attacker recieves this card.

 

Sooo…could this card go bakc and forth to the same players in the same battle?  Or do you wait till after the battle is over?  And does the attacker have to win the battle?  Do you have to be the 'attacker'?

 



#3 Farro

Farro

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:45 AM

 The Creuss Flagship Hil Colish also has this rule:

"This ship may not use the D wormhole it generates." So the Flagship obviously acts only as a Wormhole and cannot go into itself, making it an illegal move.

Fighters can fight without the capacity needed to support them for the duration of the battle. For example, if you have a Carrier with 6 fighters and the Carrier is destroyed, the Fighters go on following the normal Space Battle rules. In the end of the whole Space Battle (not just the battle round, the whole battle) the unsupported Fighters are discarded. So I guess your Ground Force-Fighters just return to the planet they were on after the battle.

About playing multiple Action Cards: A player may never play two identical Action Cards for the same situation and/or on the same entity during one round. Example: A player cannot play two "Flank Speed" Action Cards on the same fleet in one round. The player may, however, play a “Flank Speed” on two different fleets in the same round.

So the answer to Signal Jamming would be that you can play it on different Systems, regardless of who is the owner of the System. Now if the Signal Jamming card targeted a player instead of a System, you could not play it twice on the same player.

EDIT: About the Shard of the Throne political card:

From the wording of the card, I understand that the card indeed goes back and forth between the two players. Player B, owner of the Shard of the Throne, gets one of his ships destroyed by Player A's ship. Player A gets the card. I think it doesn't refer to the player who attacked the System, but the ship attacking and destroying another ship. 

Hope this answered your questions. Hopefully it's all correct, too :D

 



#4 Wakrob

Wakrob

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 04:09 AM

Farro said:

So the answer to Signal Jamming would be that you can play it on different Systems, regardless of who is the owner of the System. Now if the Signal Jamming card targeted a player instead of a System, you could not play it twice on the same player.

 

 

It does kind of target a player.  You have to take one players Command Counter and place it on the board.



#5 Farro

Farro

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 04:18 AM

Wakrob said:

 

 

It does kind of target a player.  You have to take one players Command Counter and place it on the board.

 

 

That's true, but you initially target a non-Home System. Then take a CC out of a Player's reinforcements and put it in that System. You could choose a System controlled by Player 2 and place a CC of Player 3 in there, it doesn't matter because of the way the card is worded.

Take a CC from ANY other player's reinforcements, and place it there in the non-Home System you have chosen.

But then if you want to Signal Jam two different players in a same System, I don't know. Common sense tells me I think you can, your signal jammer machine could send the signal jamming waves to jam all the signals.



#6 Wakrob

Wakrob

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:40 AM

 

Here is the rule on Action Cards

A player may never play two identical Action Cards for the same situation and/or on the same entity during one round.

They give Flank Speed being used twice on the same fleet as an example of something you cant do.  I wish they gave more examples to better flesh out that rule.  I cant think of any off hand though I dont know all the cards that well.



#7 Farro

Farro

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:47 AM

Wakrob said:

 

Here is the rule on Action Cards

A player may never play two identical Action Cards for the same situation and/or on the same entity during one round.

They give Flank Speed being used twice on the same fleet as an example of something you cant do.  I wish they gave more examples to better flesh out that rule.  I cant think of any off hand though I dont know all the cards that well.

I would like some clarification on this as well. Like, could I play two Flank Speeds at the same time on two different Systems and such. Halp ;__;



#8 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 01:54 PM

The AC rule seems straight forward enough to me. If the card targets something, you can't play an identical card on the same target. Nothing is said about using an identical card on a seperate target. So, if it targets a player, you can't target the same player with an identical card, but you can target a different player with an identical card. The same goes for planets, systems, ships, fleets ect ect ect. I also see the rule as not enforcing player 1 using card Z on player 2 and then player 3 using an identical card to the one that player one just used, also on player 2.

As always, if the card states that it MAY be used in such a fashion, it may be used in that manner.

As for playing two ACs at the same time, it depends on when the card states that it can be played. If, for example, it is played as an action, then obviously you can only do that once on your turn, and will have to wait to play the second until your turn comes again. If it states a situation, then the AC is probably targeting that specific action, a fleet or ship moving, a planet being captured, trade goods being used, units being produced ect. In those cases, you would usually be restricted to using only one, as you would probably end up targeting the same thing twice, which breaks said rule.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS