Jump to content



Photo

Swift/Lightning Attack against Hords


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 eltom13

eltom13

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 07:01 AM

Against hords according to the rules one does DoS/2 hits. Is Swift/Lightning Attack against hordes completely useless?



#2 Amaimon

Amaimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 264 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:01 AM

 No. You hit normally as per lightning or swift attack plus 1 hit/2DoS. 



#3 eltom13

eltom13

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:08 PM

Amaimon said:

 No. You hit normally as per lightning or swift attack plus 1 hit/2DoS. 



So you mean if for example I make a lightning attack and have 3 DoS I hit 3 times for the lightning attack PLUS 1 time for the horde attack rules?



#4 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 09:03 AM

You get 1 hit per 2 DoS on a WS test vs a horde. If that WS test happens to be a Lightning Attack you can potentially get 1 hit for every DoS (read: for every hit)  that does damage. If that weapons is a power weapon, you get 1 additional hit for every of those hits with lightning attack.

An example:

You have Lightning Attack and a Power Sword, you roll 10 on a vs 60 WS test on your Lightning Attack for a total of 6 DoS.

You get a hit for 1 DoS, 3 DoS and 5 DoS; a total of 3 hits from your WS test.

You get a total of 6 hits from Lightning Attack (assuming your WS Bonus reaches that high). If each of those 6 Lightning Attack hits deal any amount of damage to the horde, that's 6 magnitude hits as well. As you dealt the damage with a weapon with the Power Field quality, those hit deals an additional 1 magnitude damage, for a total of 12 hits.

So all together you did 3 + 12 = 15 magnitude damage with your attack.



#5 eltom13

eltom13

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 02:37 AM

Thank you very much for the elaborate example!



#6 Amaimon

Amaimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 264 posts

Posted 24 November 2012 - 01:05 AM

He's wrong about power field. Weapons with power field quality inflict one additional hit only. ever

Page 349, Melee : Melee weapons with the Power Field Quality inflict one additional hit.  

It's also on the GM screen, which is useless besides that. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS