Jump to content



Photo

activation token


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 monk

monk

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:59 PM

If you place an activation token in anothers players area to start a battle, if you lose and retreat does the activation token remain in the enemy area meaning you cannot attack that area again that year?



#2 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,928 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 11:58 PM

 Correct, once you activate an area, that means you won't be able to activate it again until the next Spring.  There is, however, a Tactics card (Favor of the Warriors Guild) that lets you remove an activation token from the board, and if you use it wisely it can be pretty powerful :)



#3 Athelas Loraiel

Athelas Loraiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:12 PM

 

do activation tokens have any bearing to another player wanting to activate same area?
 
 
 
can a player use same area to activate again this year or is it once activated excluded from players attack moves this year again?
 
 
 
what is actualy the use of a tactics card that sets enemy activation token to any space on map? What would be the abuse?


#4 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,928 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:56 AM

Athelas Loraiel said:

do activation tokens have any bearing to another player wanting to activate same area?
No, an activation token only affects the player it belongs to; other players essentially ignore them.
 
Athelas Loraiel said:
can a player use same area to activate again this year or is it once activated excluded from players attack moves this year again?
If a player activates an area, he cannot activate that same area again until the activation token is removed (usually in the Spring).  Other players, however, ignore that token and can activate it themselves, placing their own token in it.
 
Athelas Loraiel said:
what is actualy the use of a tactics card that sets enemy activation token to any space on map? What would be the abuse?
This lets you put a token in an area to prevent that opponent from activating that area.  For instance, you can use it on one of your own areas to prevent them from attacking you.  Because it's THEIR token, you can ignore it, but they won't be able to move into the area.  It's a very useful card.


#5 Athelas Loraiel

Athelas Loraiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:05 PM

A few more if you please.

 

1. If a player plays a tactics card setting an activation token near token's owner forces, and token owner is next to play order card no 1,2,3 - can he move his units into that are causing battle (because this is just after played actics card nd was planned by token owner player - plan to attack the area?)

 

2. If the token was placed next to owner's army, on an empty or city area - can owner of token move units there via strategize, or mobilize - not causing attacks?



#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,648 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 04:27 PM

Athelas Loraiel said:

1. If a player plays a tactics card setting an activation token near token's owner forces, and token owner is next to play order card no 1,2,3 - can he move his units into that are causing battle (because this is just after played actics card nd was planned by token owner player - plan to attack the area?)

No, because the activation marker was placed in that hex by the tactics card, the hex already counts as activated by that player when his own turn comes up.  This player cannot activate a hex that already has one of his activation tokens on it, so he cannot attack that hex this turn (unless he can remove the token with something like Favour of the Warrior's Guild.)

This is a prime example of why another player would use the tactic card in question - to prevent the target player from attacking a hex he otherwise would have.

Athelas Loraiel said:

2. If the token was placed next to owner's army, on an empty or city area - can owner of token move units there via strategize, or mobilize - not causing attacks?

The owner could move units there with Strategize, as that card does not require him to activate the area first.  Mobilize (and Conquer) both require him to activate the area he's movign to, so those wouldn't work.  Note that once he places units in a hex with one of his activation tokens in it, those units cannot leave until the token is removed - it doesn't matter how they got there, they're locked down as soon as they arrive.



#7 Athelas Loraiel

Athelas Loraiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:40 PM

Thank you very much!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS